We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be away from home!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 101

Motel 101
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel 101 to your Saves list
Motel 101
29399 Ellensburg Ave., Gold Beach, OR 97444 (Formerly Sand Dollar Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Mulino, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to be away from home!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at this motel for for more then a mo. for work.. The owner was so friendly nd made me feel like I was right at home. The best place in Gold Beach if you ask me. You are right across the street from the beach and you can just stand out your door and wacth the sunset. I loved it there and would go back anytime..
Will, K&L Industry .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
10
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southern Cal
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Traveling by motorcycle on the Oregon coast I found motel 101. Clean, quiet, comfortable bed. You get what you pay for. This was the right price point for what I got. Mr. Patel, the manager was friendly and attended to a heater issue immediately. He also tools me over 60% of all hotels in America are managed by someone named Patel..... Hmmmmm.... In my experience, he is correct.

Room Tip: Get an end room. You minimize " neighbor noise by 50%.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, located close to at least two restaurants that stay open quite late, plus a 24-hour grocery store. This is an older property (witness the pink bathroom fixtures and blue tiles) but very well maintained. The heating system is ultra-efficient, good news as Gold Beach can get pretty nippy in the evening. The motel is just one storey, so no worries about other guests thundering around overhead. And although Ellensburg Avenue is also Highway 101, we weren’t disturbed by traffic noise. The motel is close to the waterfront, making it a good choice if you’re in town for a trip on Jerry’s Rogue Jets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We got to the Motel and the owners mom was just leaving. Cool Indian guy with a Gviant gold earing. Pretty funny for Oregon, but he was really nice. Gave us the key and said we can go look at the room first. The place is old. But the owner is nice, clean room, it took two seconds to walk to the beach and oh yeah we got a good nights sleep. We are on a 9 day road trip and cannot see how one can afford 9 days paying places like the dump accross the street $149. We paid $59 and got just what we needed. Stay at Motel 101. If he is full up ask him if he has rooms at his other 2 motels don the street. He will get you set up for the night! Raja you rock!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is clean and good customer service. I stayed here for the duration of my son football camp. They cleaned and replace my towels everyday. It's not the Hilton or ritz but for 50bucks you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had a gander on the web yesterday and saw it was the cheapest so didn't have great expectations but it is a cute little place with more than what I needed and the staff are lovely and so friendly and helpful. The place is a 5 minute walk from the beach so a great place to see the sunset over the Pacific. The wifi is good quality too and the whole place is kept tiny! Bravo!

Room Tip: All rooms good as far as I can tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I like to stay at owner operated, non chain motels...easier to get a better rate. Motel 101 was very clean, somewhat updated. New carpets, well maintained even if the bathroom did have pink tub and toilet. Convenient location right across the street from a nice little seafood restaurant ...good/reasonable. Motel offered coffee in a separate room, but only in the morning. No coffee or hair dryer (an issue for my wife, not me) in the room. In the end ..a comfortable bed at a very comfortable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 101

Address: 29399 Ellensburg Ave., Gold Beach, OR 97444 (Formerly Sand Dollar Inn)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 101, A family run motel dedicated to offering clean, affordable accommodations. All rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerators and free wifi. Safe and secure with 24 hour security surveillance. Specials and extended Stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 101 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 101, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.