We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly/Nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Beach Inn
Save
You added Gold Beach Inn to your Saves list
29346 Ellensburg Avenue, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Honolulu, HI
1 review
“Friendly/Nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

The woman who may my reservation was wonderful! Unfortunately, when I had to cancel due to illness, another woman who took the call was AWFUL. I wasn't expecting a refund of our deposit, but I was expecting basic politeness. She seemed to think I was lying and kept telling me to try to make it after all. She was extremely rude and when we reschedule our trip it will NOT include a stop here.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    115
    44
    37
    17
See reviews for
78
180
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

We rented the Brunswick Condo, which was supposed to be a top-end rustic lodge--it was more like a double-wide trailer, with dangerous step-ups and step-downs, dark rooms with no views, even a bed in the kitchen! The desk clerks refused to discuss our dissatisfaction, as did the owners, and refused to either give us a credit for a visit at another time or refund our money. We were treated unfairly and rudely. Contact the Gold Beach Chamber of Commerce for reports before you stay here.

  • Liked — Close to Spinner's Restaurant
  • Disliked — The ugly room and the complete lack of hospitality
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

Our view of the ocean was obscured by trees when I had been under the impression after talking to them when making the reservation that all the rooms had an ocean view. Then, after the first night, we had place the "please service" sign on the door. When we came back in the early afternoon, it hadn't been done. We then left again and passed the housekeeper on our way out, still leaving the sign on the door. It was surprising to get back and find that the room had NOT been taken care of. When I called to front desk to ask for, at the very least, clean towels and to have the garbage cans emptied, I was told that the housekeeping staff had left for the day, but if I wanted to come to the desk, I could get clean towels. The next morning, I went to the front desk to voice my complaints, and was told that the managers had gone on vacation and there was no one there who could straighten things out. I filled out the complaint paperwork, but never did hear from the organization. We will not be back.

  • Liked — The lady who put out the breakfast was very friendly
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

After moving from our home on felucy bay, we decided to take a trip to Gold Beach Oregon to do some beachcombing and get some R&R. We origionally stayed in a different Motel which was very average and very noisy on highway 101. We checked the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to try Gold Beach Inn, which was not right on highway 101 but on the water side. The view was fantastic and we loved the sound of the ocean surf. We ended up staying 2 months and would have stayed longer, but we were notified that our new home was ready for us to move into in Wash. State. I applaud the owner-mgr Don for all his courtesy and to the many smiling faces on the cleaning crew and the maintenance crew while completeing their various duties. The spectacular squeeky clean hot tubs, and sitting area by the beach were enjoyed daily by the motel guests. The pricing of our room was very fair and we plan on coming back to Gold Beach Inn and staying again next spring. Thumbs up!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

2 friends and I go to the Oregon coast each year for a vacation. Usually we go to Bandon, OR but decided to try a different area so we could see and do some different things. We loved the fact that the beach was so easily accessed and we ended up spending most of our time on the beach - even built a small fire and did a wiener roast with marshmallows for dessert for one of our lunches. We each like to have our own rooms, so we got a cabin. We were a little concerned because we only had 1 bath, but it did not bother us. You cannot expect to be going to a newly built facility - it is older. The furniture may not be the best, but the beds were comfortable and if you really want to beach comb and just relax, it is absolutely the perfect place to go. The facility has some nice gardens, hot tubs and their service personnel were so friendly and helpful. There is a breakfast room where you can fix yourself cereal, muffins, bagels, juice and coffee - take it to your room if you want. The best things though were the beach - its huge size and ease of access and the views from many of the rooms and cabins. We spent our non beach time at the dining table gazing out the window and watching for seals, whales, ships and anything else that caught our eyes and attention. We most definitely do plan on returning.

  • Liked — Easy beach access
  • Disliked — furniture in living room is a little beaten up
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle washington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

my stay at the gold beach inn was very pleasant the staff was incredibly friendly and the beds were so comfortable i spent my weekend lounging around and taking a dip in there hottubs on the beach and watching the waves i love how you can get to the beach wherever you are just head down to them and your there my room had an incredible view we watched the most amazing sunsets and best of all i could here the waves crashing on shore. in the morning we had a very good breakfast it was an actual full breakfast.I did not want to go home i would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

Gold Beach Inn

Jan. 2006

We had called and asked about Winter Rates since we would be going though Gold Beach, we thought It would be nice to enjoy the beach on our way back from visiting family. The rates were good and we chose a room on the bottom floor. We could still see the ocean.
Our room was very nice and clean. The room was large and there was a micowave and refrigerator. I did enjoy the large recliners in the room that was a nice touch. We had two sinks, one in the bathroom and one in the dressing area. There is a spa outside on a newer deck that over looks the ocean, but it was too cold outside for us to try it out. The walk to the beach is only a 2 minute walk. Very nice.
As for breakfast it was cereal, bagels, muffins, juice, hard boiled eggs and coffee. I was surprised with breakfast it was good.
Yes we would go back to Gold Beach Inn.

  • Liked — It sat close to the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Address: 29346 Ellensburg Avenue, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.