We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for a run down smelly room and DISGUSTING bed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Beach Inn
Save
You added Gold Beach Inn to your Saves list
29346 Ellensburg Avenue, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Albany, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced for a run down smelly room and DISGUSTING bed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband refused to sleep in the gross bed with a torn box spring and worn out smelly linens. I politely told the girl at the desk the next morning that perhaps the bed needs updating and she responded with a snotty "really". We stayed in alovely place in Lincoln City for the previous 5 days and it was less than the $150 we got cheated out of at this dump with lousy service. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    111
    41
    36
    17
See reviews for
72
177
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The guests who give this place a glowing review, must either have been staying somewhere else,
or they don't know what a Hotel is, or is meant to be.

Room: Ocean View 3rd floor.
Cons: Worn out beds, chairs and furnishings. I refused to sit in the chairs, or undress to sleep.
Bathroom too dirty to contemplate showering.
The Ocean view rooms actually overlook a parking lot where people stood around smoking, yelling, and revving their engines making the balcony unusable.
The ocean is maybe a quarter mile further away, so you have no choice but to be impacted by the parking lot activity.
Just what you want, when you pay for a tranquil relaxing Ocean view experience.

If you had paid what the room was actually worth - about $39, it would not be so galling - but at $160 it's an insult and absolute highway robbery.
Beware the ridiculous punitive cancellation policy...a full 24 hrs notice is required to avoid charges.
The industry standard for non discounted rate cancellations, is 4.00pm same day.
On the bottom of the check-in form, is printed 'All Sales are Final at Check In' so when you get to your room from hell and want to flee, you still have to pay.
It's all designed to make sure they take your money.

In room Wifi: Never worked.
Cigarette butts dumped out of vehicles in the gutter adjacent to the room doorways. Disgusting.
This is not a Hotel, it's an absolute disaster.

Pros: LEAVING.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Stayed in room 107 looking toward the sea, which we had a fair view of. Good size room with recliner chairs looking out the window and kitchen well stocked with utensils. It was a little tired but everything worked, the carpet was soft and thick and the room big. Well set back from the road so little more than the sound of the sea. Liked the short walk over the dunes to the beach, tried a little body boarding but that sea is scary!

Beds made up and room well cleaned every day. Perhaps different experiences in other reviews reflect the varied efforts of maids, we were pleased with ours (Kate I think). Bathroom light broke one morning, fixed with a new bulb within about 15 minutes.

Breakfast was pretty standard and the bagels were fresh and the juice good, although they could advertise a sauna and direct people to this room!

Main irritation was the wi-fi, connecting to the network was fine but from about 09.00-18.00 there was no internet access; every day. Network up and signal excellent but internet down.

Could have happily relaxed here a few more days...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We used to stay at Gold Beach Inn but it's been awhile since our last stay. We did however recommend it to our friends because of our past experience. Not any more. They stayed three nights. They found some change on the floor and a moldy peanut butter cracker when they entered their room. Obviously the floors weren't vacuumed. The next day when they returned late in the afternoon the room was not made up nor was the towels picked up and exchanged. The motel said it must have been because they had a do not disturb sigh out, which they didn't. This happened again the next day and the motel said the help had gone home so their room wouldn't be made up. They had to go to the office to get toilet paper and kleenex as they were out and the "help" didn't replace it. This place was the pits. Don't stay here

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We have been staying at Gold Beach Inn for 6 years, 2-4 times a year. The staff are always friendly and helpful. There are rooms with/without dogs, some with kitchenettes, private balcony - choices for everyone in various price ranges. Best of all most of the rooms have a sweeping view of the ocean. The 2 spas are great set outdoors with ocean view, sheltered with cabana and chairs for relaxing,
Obviously we enjoy it as we keep returning and taking our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Check in went well. Had a reservation best way make sure you get what you want. Quiet and restful. Ocean within distance (less than 50 yards). Continental Breakfast really good. More than what we expected. We are not really picky people. Main thing it must be Clean and Safe. Don't have big choice on where to eat. They have 3 or 4 restraunts and a Dairy Queen.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010 via mobile

Really nice hotel, more than your average motel. Get a discount at Spinners down the road for dinner, which does pretty good nosh too.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Address: 29346 Ellensburg Avenue, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.