We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy day at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Beach Inn
Save
You added Gold Beach Inn to your Saves list
29346 Ellensburg Avenue, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rainy day at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We left Vancouver, WA with friends early Sat. Morning 9/28/2013 just before a tremendous storm started in our vintage Triumph cars. We were headed for a car show in Waldport that was cancelled before we got there because of weather. We got on Highway 101 and headed south to Gold Beach where we had reservations at the Gold Beach Inn. Wonderful and friendly staff checked us in to our beach front rooms. We happen to love the ocean in a storm. The next morning they served a very nice complimentary breakfast before we were on our way. We definitely would go back! Not sure about a pool or fitness room, but they do have hot tubs right by the ocean!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a view of the ocean but be sure to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    111
    41
    36
    16
See reviews for
71
176
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waldport, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Oceanfront rooms (or rooms with an ocean view) and spas even closer to the surf, what more could you ask for? The breakfast was pretty comprehensive, the TV in the room was a wide flat screen, and the room came with two recliners and tall, poofy beds. Bath and sink were clean with lots of little hygiene amenities. I think overall it is a comfortable if not exceptional place to stay and watch the Oregon coast at ease or as a base for Gold Beach recreation.

Room Tip: Top floor for the best view probably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri Valley, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having stayed here at least three times, my sister and I always enjoy the ocean views from our 4th floor private balcony, leaving our door open to ocean sounds all night long and walking up and down the beach. Room is large and clean, two reclinders in the room to view ocean from inside room, beds comfy, front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, the spa is gorgeous especially at sunset .Breakfast was ok as I am not a big fan of frozen french toast or waffles but overall not complaining.. Love Love this place and will come again.

Great stopping off point for sights up and down the coast with a place to come "home"to at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A friend, who has stayed in Gold Beach on several occasions, recommended the Gold Beach Inn. We were traveling from Sacramento CA to Gold Beach, OR via route 299. We had no Idea what an exhausting drive that would become! We reached Crescent City after 8:00p.m. and needed a break to refuel the car and our bodies. I called the Inn to let them know we would not make the final check-in at 10:00pm. The desk person said to take as long a break as we needed and proceeded to make arrangements for picking up the room key after hours. We got to the hotel at 11:00p.m. and were soon safely tucked into the most comfortable bed ever. The hotel is, as many have mentioned, an older hotel along 101; but from what we saw this seemed fairly typical for Southern Oregon coastal towns. Our fourth floor room was large, comfortable, and clean. We had just left temps in the high 90s so we welcomed the wonderful cool, salty air. We kept our windows opened at night so we could hear the ocean which was only a short walk from the hotel.
The Gold Beach Inn is conveniently located for day trips to the redwoods or venturing further up the coast. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and responsive to requests. The housekeeping staff did an outstanding job of keeping the room clean, providing wonderfully fresh towels and extra pillows Everyone on staff acknowledged us with a cheerful, friendly comment each day. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. .

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms provide an excellent view of the ocean. There isn't a restaurant at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Gold Beach Inn competes with other properties along a stretch of Highway 101 in Gold Beach. We paid $109 for an ocean view king, which we thought was good value. The rooms are ok - they could use a little more pizazz - but the property fronts the gorgeous beach, has an updated outdoor area with three hot tubs, and is probably the best value in this section of Gold Beach. Next door are the rustic rooms which we found a little too dark and unappealing for the same price. This was a one night stopover on the way to California.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having been used to the highly developed coastline in the East, we were unprepared for the comparatively little development along the southern Oregon coast. Most of the facilities in Gold Beach were vintage looking. But don’t let the vintage appearance scare you away from the Gold Beach Inn. While on a road trip, one looks for a good sized, well appointed room, comfortable beds, cleanliness, reasonable rates and location. In these categories, the Gold Coast Inn has it all. The location is right on the beach with a great view and the staff is friendly and competent. The rates, for an oceanfront hotel, were reasonable and breakfast was included. It doesn’t have the flash of a modern high rise, but it is a very decent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent one night on our way south and stayed on the 4th floor. Our room was clean with a great view of the Pacific. The room itself was very basic and the carpet on the deck needed to be replaced. For the price you would think that they would provide real glasses and ice bucket, not plastic, in the room.The staff was friendly and helpful picking a place to eat as it is the off season. The outside of the property could use a good sprucing up as the buildings need painting and the lights just need a good cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Address: 29346 Ellensburg Avenue, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.