We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chowder, fast, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chowder House

Chowder House
29374 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR
+1 541-425-5201
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Gold Beach
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great chowder, fast, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stopped here for lunch following a recommendation from the owner of the motel where we stayed. My husband ordered the clam chowder with his fish and chips. The clam chowder was very good with real clams and bacon. I had a chicken and sunflower seed salad with a vinaigrette dressing. The greens were fresh and crisp and the light dressing perfect. Although you order at the counter, the service was quick and friendly. Good place for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, and found everything to be fresh and delicious. We strive to give all of our guests a great customer service experience, and we are happy to hear that we were able to provide that to you. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    76
    42
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The place never looked crowded the whole time we were in Gold Beach. We stopped here and had the fish & chips for lunch. Service & food was good. Someone (probably the boss) came around to see if we were satisfied with everything. How often do you get that?

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, as well as the customer service that was provided to you. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Top Contributor
831 reviews 831 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
2,196 helpful votes 2,196 helpful votes
“Food was good. Restaurant design a bit odd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had lunch here in May. We ordered at the counter and the friendly staff brought the food to our table. I thought the fish-n-chips were good and we got two generous pieces for $7. My husband had their clam chowder and said it was rich and creamy.

We both *loved* the little biscuits :-)

Overall, the menu is a bit limited. They make up sandwiches to order but at $9.50 each, that seemed on the expensive side. The restaurant was sparkling clean.

We ate in the sort of "side room" in a comfortable booth next to some bookcases. There is also a back room which was full of stacked tables and chairs. Plus there are some couches. That's the odd part I mentioned -- it looks kind of weird, to be honest -- maybe they might put up curtains or a screen or something to block it off? There were also some unused display cases off to one side which made us wonder if the place had changed hands recently.

Lunch was good though. There is no RV parking for anything large; no trailer parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at the Chowder House. The restaurant has not changed hands recently, however we have undergone a few changes. Your recommendation of curtains has merit, and we will consider that moving forward. Thank you again for posting your review. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockbridge Baths, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We (three of us: my wife, daughter and I) had lunch at the Chowder House. My wife and I both had fish and chips -- Excellent! -- and my daughter had fish tacos, which were good if a little light on the portions of fish.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Chowder House. The Fish Tacos and Fish & Chips are two of our house favorites. We are glad to hear that all three of you enjoyed them. Thank you again for your review. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bako
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok Chowder.... And that's their specialty??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stopped in here as it was out first day at the coast. Of course coast makes you want clam chowder. How can you go wrong a at a place called "the chowder house"?
Well the service was good, the fries were ok, the steamed veggie plate was great, but the chowder tasted more like potatoes than clams. Disappointed - but luckily we found great chowder at the Port Hole Cafe the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our Clam Chowder. However we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the fries, and steamed veggie plate. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder House also viewed

 
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.