We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do not want your business” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums to your Saves list
Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   29232 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They do not want your business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We reserved this because of a AAA review rating. As you can see here it is mixed. My first impression was No Elevator and only view rooms are on 2nd floor. This is not for the elderly. View on 2nd floor is nice. No Air conditioning. Rooms big but poorly laid out. Closet is hidden in a 4 door enclosure with the microwave. Shower was nice but their hot water was not at a steady temperature. I was hit with icy blasts making it very unpleasant. 2nd day we did not get coffee restock or clean glasses. Dirty ones left in the middle of the tables. Check out is rigidly set at 11am. The lady at the desk got rude when I told her I needed to check out at noon. Finally after an argument of what good customer service was, I was able to get 11:30 and a threat of charging for another day. She clearly did not care if she had a job or not. My point is the argument was provoked and un-necessary. Breakfast was good but quarters tight and uncomfortable. There is no hair dryer in the room. After my conversation I had to rush to my room, freeze in the shower and let my hair drip dry. I had 2 of their double adjoining rooms. I will not go back. Not the kind of vacation spot most of us need.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbresortmanager, Manager at Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We apologize for any convince you may have experienced during your stay. All the rooms are ocean view with a private balcony. Directly off the parking lot with no stairs to climb we have 16 2nd story ocean view rooms The two rooms your family occupied where on the 3rd floor which is up 16 stairs. This floor does have a higher ocean view .
We will be going over with our housekeepers the procedures for cleaning stay over rooms. When errors such as these are brought to our attention we can take action to correct them immediately.
In regarded to the shower we will be investigating to see if there is a issue that we where unaware of.
As to the issues of the late check out we do apologize for the inconvenience it caused. The two rooms you family occupied where reserved for that night. We have to insure reserved rooms are completed for our arriving guest at the scheduled check in time. Due to this we are unable to extend checkout any later than 11:30 AM for reserved rooms.
Again we apologize for any inconveniences that may have happened. We do want to thank you your two night stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    107
    35
    18
    14
See reviews for
80
131
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We decided to stay here on a trip through Gold Beach. We stayed for two nights, but had to cancel the third night because of a change in plans. The hotel would not offer us a refund on our rooms, even though we had arrived as expected and stayed two out of the three nights. As a compromise, they said they would refund our rooms if they were occupied the night we didn't stay. As it turns out those rooms were occupied, as confirmed by the front desk attendant, but they refused to refund us the rooms because the hotel did not completely sell out. It is a nice place to stay and the rooms are quite elegant, but based on their poor customer service I would strongly recommend against it. In the case that you have any change of plans you will be charged. I travel for work often and have never encountered a hotel with this poor of a cancellation policy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbresortmanager, Manager at Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We would like thank you for your feedback. I am sorry your experience was not as you expected. As when you make your reservation you were told about or strict 24 hour cancellation which also pertains to each day of the stay. We hold the rooms and may have to turn people away if we have no more rooms meeting their preferences. I am sorry if their was error in communication on the fact that we would refund if the hotel booked for the night. Even if your rooms where rented they may have taken a different one if you where here. We would hope you would understand why we have this policy again we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel has very pleasant staff, nice amenities and great rooms. Their rates are very reasonable and they offer a complete hot breakfast in the morning. It's a great place to base from if you want to travel the south coast area! It's our favorite spot to get away from it all.

Room Tip: If you're going to spend most of your time out of the room anyway, get one on the lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbresortmanager, Manager at Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about the Gold Beach Resort. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our Resort pleasant. We hope to see you again soon!

Manager
Gold Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We love this place. Traveling on vacation we booked only one night but decided to stay for three nights. All rooms face the ocean. We stayed on the first floor as they were the most affordable. The first floor is down one flight of stairs from the parking area. There are no elevators so you have to be able to carry your luggage up and down these stairs. While the second floor (same level as parking area) and third floor likely had a better view of the ocean we could see it from our room. Best of all is the waves crashing in at night while we slept. What a lovely sound. And we were minutes walking distance from the beautiful ocean. When not walking on the beach, you can spend time sitting on your private balcony listening to the ocean, sipping a glass of vino... That's is what we did!

The staff are super friendly. While there, we managed to lock our keys in the trunk. We called AAA and then had access to the main part of the car with the alarm going off but we could not get into out trunk until "Trent" the manager's husband came to the rescue. After about one hour of his time he managed to pull forward the back seat and crawl through a small opening to the trunk. He likely saved us loads of money. I can't thank him enough for this.

Room Tip: We took the lease expensive room and it was still very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbresortmanager, Manager at Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about the Gold Beach Resort. It sounds like it was a much needed vacation to the ocean! We are pleased to hear that you chose to extend your stay with us and enjoyed the peacefulness of the ocean's waves.

What an unfortunate event for your keys to get trapped in the trunk! We are pleased to hear that Trent could help you retrieve your keys! We are always here to help whenever we can. Thank you again for your response. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Manager at the Gold Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Quick friendly check-in and surprised to see size of room. Excellent view off a nice private balcony. In front of a nice beach with good waves, some rock beds and if you like looking for agates you'll find some nice sized ones here. Nice hearing the waves at night even tho a bit off the beach; surprised there wasn't a screen door on the slider but flies etc didn't seem to be an issue. The hot tub was excellent, it was actually hot. Nice clean bathroom/shower in the pool area. Friendly staff, clean property and rooms, at a fair price.

Room Tip: all rooms have private balcony overlooking ocean, we like being on top floor which here is in the 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbresortmanager, Manager at Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response about the Gold Beach Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and found our staff to be friendly. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Manager at the Gold Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was fabulous here. All rooms have an ocean view. We had the screen open all the time listening to the surf. While we awake and in the room we sat on the lanai watching the ocean. The room was clean and comfy. The staff was friendly and check in was fast and easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbresortmanager, Manager at Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff and rooms completely to your liking. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Manager Gold Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Kind staff and quick check-in. Clean, large, updated room on 2nd floor w view and nice balcony. Comfortable furniture in the room. We enjoyed a brief dip in the pool. Well tended path to beach was a short walk to the water. Wonderful crashing waves all night. TV reception was fuzzy/poor, but TV is not why we were here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbresortmanager, Manager at Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review. The second floor offers a great ocean view for guest who are not able to climb stairs. We are glad you enjoyed of of the amenities we have to offer We will take note of the TV reception and communicate with our provider to insure that this is not a common issue. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums

Address: 29232 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Resort And Condominiums Hotel Gold Beach
Hotel Gold Beach
Resort Gold Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Beach Resort and Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.