We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whaats happened to the beachcomber???” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Beachcomber

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn of the Beachcomber to your Saves list
Inn of the Beachcomber
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   29266 Ellensburg Ave., Gold Beach, OR 97444   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
angwin,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“whaats happened to the beachcomber???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

we arrived early and were unpleasantly surprised by the state of the bathroom. one tile was completely loose and others very disgusting looking. we asked for another room and were told that was all that was available in the upper section. not true at all. sinks did not drain. we have come here for over twenty years, we will not be back. staff obviously not interested in customer service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    65
    19
    32
    23
See reviews for
51
87
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We checked into this hotel at around 9:30PM and went to the hot tub almost right after to unwind. We were only there for 10 minutes and came back to our room. About an hour later we heard something going on outside out room, and I assumed it was someone just trying to get into the room next to us. However I started to realize that the noise was so loud because it was our door. The front desk had given keys to our room to other guests who were trying to use them. Luckily I had locked the door before going to bed. I'm just thankful that I was in the room when it happened, not in the hot tub while someone else was in my room. The entire experience with the front desk staff left more to be desired.

The hotel has everything you want, pool, hot tub, free WiFi and a breakfast. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are fairly clean. Overall it's just average.

I would stay here again only for lack of other options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed one night here in August but when tried to take a shower at 10PM, the water was icy. When I called the front desk, the guy was rude and unhelpful, and just insisted they had adequate water heaters, but that too many guests must be taking long showers and to try again in 20 minutes. It was 11:30PM before I could find hot water, and I did not appreciate having to wait until late to get a hot shower. It would have also been nice to have been allowed to speak to the manager, or to have him care enough to try to call my room and either make an apology for an unacceptable inconvenience after a high hotel fee, or to compensate me, as who wants to pay for a hotel with cold showers?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night, while doing 2 week a road trip. The place was quite nice, with an ocean view. The guy at the reception was really friendly, knew my hometown, and gave me a little discount on the normal rate.

The town itself was quite boring, but then again we were only passing through..

I would recommend this place for a one night's stay if you really have to stay in Gold Beach, I found it somewhat pricey for what you get..

Room Tip: top floors have a nice view on the dunes and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We booked an ocean view room and our view was almost totally blocked by a huge tree. The hotel was not full, so why they put us in this inferior room, I have no idea. The staff was run by a bunch of very unprofessional twenty-somethings - lots of chatter going on amongst themselves while they ignored the customers. The bathroom had a horrible mildewy smell. The breakfast was very mediocre. Someone was smoking outside our room and the smoke kept drifting in the slider.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Check inn was a little unprofessional (as was most encounters with the front desk), but after that it was fantastic. We had an upper floor King with full ocean view. The room was very clean, with newer shaker style furnishings. Everything about this room was nice. It had a larger flat-screen, refrigerator, and 2 shaker reclining chairs. We enjoyed the view so much we scrapped our plans to go out to dinner, and picked up a few groceries and ate on the deck watching the waves.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Some things were very good. Beds comfortable, furnishings nice, breakfast had nice variety. Pool and property in need of repair/maintenance. The Mgmt. is trying, and with an influx of more income will be able to realize the potential of this location. Our room, with 2 beds & no view, is just not there yet. Pool not heated. The litany of house rules rattled off at check-in doesn't get things started on a very positive note.




the litany of house rules

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Beachcomber

Address: 29266 Ellensburg Ave., Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Beachcomber 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Inn of the Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Beachcomber Hotel Gold Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.