We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ireland's Rustic Lodges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Save
You added Ireland's Rustic Lodges to your Saves list
29330 Ellensburg Road (US 101), Gold Beach, OR 97444   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in a second floor, very rustic cabin. With a easy chair that must have come in with the original wood. Once you get past the obvious age, it grows on you. Lots and lots of knotty pine, a decent shower and very quiet. Gold Beach is a wonderful area and this was a very affordable stay. We would come back easily.
The check in lady is great. Maybe she was in the movies. Anyway, just fun to talk to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    127
    33
    25
    32
See reviews for
97
209
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in foggy November. Our first trip to the States and a perfect place to stay on our road trip down highway 101. We checked in late to be greeted by some very friendly staff who couldn't be happier to see us, Char is an absolute delight and a credit to your staff. We stayed in an ocean view lodge which is stunning. A lovely smell of pine, enormous room and a working log fire place. We quickly unpacked and made our way to the hot tubs and listened to the crashing waves in the dark. Back in the lodge we curled up in front of the fire and fell asleep straight away! The complimentary breakfast was a pleasant surprise. I couldn't recommend anywhere else but this place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It is not a good thing when you find your way through the darkness into your funky little wood cabin, turn on the lights, and find that your dog has made a beeline to the bed and has her nose under it, snorting in that mode you know has to do with hunting small four-legged creatures. You wonder what pair of glinting eyes will meet yours when you look underneath and are relieved when it's just a ball that some prior dog owner left behind -- and that apparently wasn't within the range of the housekeeping staff.

Our visit to Ireland's Rustic (no idea about Ireland, but the place is indeed rustic -- very rustic) Lodges began with a lovely encounter with Char, who is straight out of Central Casting for the wisecracking, genial, hard-living (but good-hearted) proprietress of a house of unsavory reputation. She sent us off to the row of little cabins that look like something from a town abandoned decades ago -- dark wood, tiny garage alcoves, dim porch light that you find only after stumbling over the chair on the front porch. Inside is all dark. Carpets, fabrics, walls. The impression of the place is that it is dingy and dirty, but to be honest it was at least surface-clean -- just dark. The bed turned out to be quite good, but the pillows were those terrible foam ones that don't compress and leave you with a sore neck in the morning. Amenities were the absolute minimum, and no hair dryer was in evidence. Breakfast (included) was basic and no more -- but there was plenty of cereal, breads to toast, cereal, bananas, etc.

There's nothing fundamentally wrong with the place (and indeed their other units may be nicer than the funky little cabin we were in) as long as you know you're getting a very basic, no-frills ind of accommodation -- at a very low price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very nice quiet facility on the ocean. It is rustic and the facilities do endorse that statement. The property is beautiful and grounds are very well maintained. Access to the beach and ocean are great as both are top notch. Whale along with other sea critter watching was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were in Sequoia cabin... Big and spacious with ocean view and amazing fireplace... Breakfast was continental so not very good but ok. Would stay again and would be nice in the warmer climates. Right onion drag so close to everything for dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in two different cabins during our stay, we booked last minute during high season, it was nice to be accommodated, let alone in such a great environment! Our first night was in an ocean-view suite, with a full kitchen, wood burning stove and a great ocean view balcony! Everything was clean and comfortable, very roomy. The second night was in a smaller cabin, still clean and comfortable, sold as a partial view but actually had a great corner window with a beautiful view of the ocean. The am breakfast bar was nice with typical continental fare, bagels, fruit, cereals, juice & coffee. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was a great getaway for my daughter (who was ill) and I, we spent time on the beach and in the wonderful jacuzzis relaxing and watching the sun set. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ocean view is pricey, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent two nights in Cabin 7, large room with a glimpse of the ocean, able to barely fit car into garage attached. Breakfast was so so, nice they had fresh fruit. The ocean and beach are a nice walk and the jacuzzi's looked inviting, but the weather was drizzley and cold. Not your typical Oregon coast weather in Sept. The room was moderately priced at $116.63.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor or with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ireland's Rustic Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ireland's Rustic Lodges

Address: 29330 Ellensburg Road (US 101), Gold Beach, OR 97444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's is world famous and encompasses 19 acres of oceanfront with towering pines and gorgeous flower gardens. Ireland's lies on the best oceanfront land in Southern Oregon. Two good Breakfast Bars, 2 oceanfront hot tubs, WIFI, Fireplaces (wood provided), sandy beach, Big waves, walk to restaurants. Ireland's has the most repeat customers of any property in Southern Oregon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ireland`s Rustic Hotel Gold Beach
Irelands Rustic Hotel
Irelands Rustic Gold Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ireland's Rustic Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.