We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Side Door Cafe

Side Door Cafe
6645 Gleneden Beach Loop, Gleneden Beach, OR 97388-9700
541-764-3825
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Food was great; dinner here was was my favorite meal on the trip. Their fish is excellent, as you would hope. We didn't try appetizers, but there are also smaller dishes that looked great.

Service was very good and quite friendly. They seem to know the dishes well.

This room has a lovely ambiance. We enjoyed just looking around at the wide variety of art, and other flourishes. It's hard to describe, you just have to go see it.

We liked it so much, we stopped in a second time just for dessert. Oh, the dessert... make sure you try the key lime pie, it's the best.

If you're on the bubble because there isn't an ocean view, then take heart - it has a lovely coastal atmosphere, classy yet relaxed... Perfect for a drizzly central coast evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    56
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Thank you, TripAdvisor. It's hard to see how you would stumble on this place but make the trip - it is certainly worth it. Thursday night, not hugely busy, but crisp attentive service which was not overkill (us shy retiring Brits not being able to handle the in your face exuberance often found elsewhere in the US). The food was a pleasant surprise - portions still bigger than strictly necessary but this was interesting fare and not a French fry in sight (unless you ordered steak but why would you with all that wonderful seafood available?). BouIllabasse spiked with lemongrass, salmon glazed with marionberry and mustard - utterly lovely and unlikely to crop up on other menus in the vicinity (near or far). Desserts were good but we hadn't spotted the theme - they were huge in European terms. The Marionberry Crisp (aka an oat based crumble) was barely accessible due to the huge mound of ice-cream holding it down - the effort was worth it in the end.

In short, just go... Go now... Go on, you know you want to!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly Staff, Excellent Food, and Amazing Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Let me start off by mentioning Bill, our server. He did a great job of making us feel welcome and comfortable. He was attentive, polite, and knowledgeable. The food was outstanding. Try the chicken pear gorgonzola quesadilla...it is to die for. Also the crab cakes and tomato artichoke bisque should not be missed. Enjoy the funky and creative decor, mellow music, and comfy booths. Side Door Café should not be a placed that is skipped while visiting the Lincoln City-Newport, Oregon area. Definitely stop by! Eat, drink, and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Beacon of Hope in a Culinary Wasteland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Okay, maybe that’s a little dramatic, but it can be a challenge to find a good place to eat on the Coast. That being said, the Side Door is the only place I've found between Depoe Bay and Pacific City that consistently puts out well prepared, creative, and interesting food. They’re not reinventing the wheel (nor should they be), but they’re not grinding out the same old boring stuff everyone else is.

For instance, consider their fried oysters. Every other restaurant serves them plain with ubiquitous cocktail or tartar sauce, yawn. But here they are served over a bed of spinach perfectly wilted with a touch of garlic and white wine, the oysters, not too big and not too small, simply breaded and perfectly fried, piping hot, with a side of Thai red curry aioli. Wonderfully balanced, interesting to eat, and memorable. It’s not a culinary milestone, but at least it’s not cocktail and tartar sauce, and it is very well done.

Very nice winelist, friendly service, and next trip I’m coming here first.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The food & atmosphere were great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed the Side Door Café very much. We only went for lunch, but we had the best clam chowder and salad!! We sat next to the fireplace and enjoyed the great service.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Door Cafe also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Gleneden Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Side Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Side Door Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.