We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of the river” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 82nd Drive, Gladstone, OR 97027 (Formerly Oxford Suites Portland - Gladstone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gladstone
Bainbridge Island WA
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Nice view of the river”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A usual HIE. The location is very close to the freeway, but they must have magic windows because the sound was nearly non existent.

Rooms were relatively comfortable, but did not feel all that clean. The location whilst on a river that is kind of pretty, is not walkable to anywhere else you'd like to go.

They have a happy hour with a surly server who did not seem like she was enjoying her occupation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
2
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel six weeks ago for a wedding and we were very pleased with the accommodations. Most (or all) the rooms have a view of the Clackamas River and ours had a small balcony from which to enjoy it. We saw people jumping into the river from the granite cliffs above; there were rafters on the river as well. The room was spacious with wonderfully comfortable pillows on the King bed. The hotel had a nice sized indoor heated pool and a sauna room. There was also a small gym. Breakfast was included, and it had a very nice selection of items, including eggs, potatoes, and pancakes. We were attending a wedding in the area, so this was a very good location for us; and the hotel provided free shuttle rides to and from the wedding venue, the Abernethy Center. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The staff and myself are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our main goal is to make sure that every guest enjoys their stay. Our view of the Clackamas River and the sauna set us apart for other hotels in the Clackamas and Oregon City Area. Many of our guests enjoy sitting the rooms with balconies so that they are able to sit out and enjoy the sounds of the river. We do look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel during labor day weekend. Hotel was fully booked so in terms of rooms we don't have many options too choose. Hotel was similar to any other good 3-star hotel.
CONS:
1- We could hear people walking on higher floor
2- Squeaky bathroom door
3- Homeless people outside the hotel and in parking area
PROS:
1- Close to highway but no highway noise
2- Safeway was next door

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on the hotel, each review is shared with the staff of the hotel. One of the most common things people enjoy about our hotel is that we are located right next to the Safeway store. All our rooms have small fridges and microwaves and for travels who don't want to eat our each night its a great advantage. I apologize that you did experience some problems during your stay and hope that you will come again when you travel this way so that we can show you a exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a step above what most Express' are all about. The 2 main "step-ups" are the fact that it's a newer hotel and the location. Back of the property sits on the Clackamas River.

However, a few downsides (for the price per night) are if you are staying with children and want your privacy, you can get the King Suite. Has a nice area for the kids (sofa bed) with their own TV but they get the fridge, microwave, view, AC/HEAT controller/unit, and balcony. There is also a pretty adequate privacy panel that can separate You (Mom and Dad let's say). Parents get an above average King size bed with quality sheets/pillows, bathroom/shower, and vanity area (and your own TV yes). However... this is going to be a deal breaker for us if we ever stay in the Portland area again.... you have to give up air flow in your section of the room for privacy. Once you close off your section with the privacy door(s), there is absolutely ZERO heat or cool air coming to your side. So, it just depends on your particular situation and what you are willing to exchange privacy for. I will say that having traveled with kids for the past 15 years and being used to staying at hotels that understand that parents need a break from taking a break, this was the very first room where air flow is completely blocked off from where one would assume the grown up's area is. Just my opinion and it didn't become an issue until the room got smoldering hot.

Room Tip: This is a family hotel. There will be lots of kids. Get a top (5th) floor so you don't hear runn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . We do have several families that stay with during vacations and during sporting events in the Clackamas area which is why our hotel offers several different room types. We also have rooms types that are designed for business travels as wellas families which offer then the space to do their work outside of the sleeping area. I do hope that when you travel again with your family that you will give us another chance and in a different room type that might be more accommodating to a family with small children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel off the holiday inn website. I needed a room that accommodated 3 adults and 2 children and the site allowed me to book the room. I've stayed at a few holiday inn expresses and the room configuration for this number is typically two double beds and a sofa bed or rollaway.

When we arrived at the hotel it was impossible to have 5 people sleep in this double room. Regardless of what the website permitted they aren't able to bring in a rollaway(advised because of fire regulations) nor do they have sofa beds in the rooms. There is a sofa (not sofa bed) in the room, but at best it would accommodate someone very small (under 4 feet). We were here for a number of days and we required a second room to be able to appropriately accommodate our party. Unless you have a small child there is no way an adult or bigger child can sleep on the sofa. The hotel blamed the website for the error, and I will follow up with the website.

The picture for the hotel is somewhat misleading. Although it is adjacent to the river they neglect to tell you that all rooms face the freeway that runs over the river and the property does have quite a bit of noise from the freeway. I think a lower floor may be a bit quieter than a top floor to reduce some of the freeway noise.

The other issue while we were there is that the Jacuzzi seemed out of commission for all 3 days of our stay.

There were a few good things though about this property. Staff were relatively nice and friendly. We were suggested to eat at the restaurant behind the Safeway and although it lacked ambiance, the food was good and reasonably priced as we had the option of the lunch menu at supper.

Although the freeway does run adjacent to the hotel, the river beside is scenic. It was hot while we were there and there were people diving and swimming into the river off the granite walls off the river bank. Teenage kids may thoroughly enjoy this experience, although I am not certain if this area is supervised or how safe it is.

A pleasant surprise was an evening reception for one night we were there and we had choice of beer/wine and a small snack. I hadn't experienced that at a holiday inn express before.

I liked the breakfast at this hotel as they mixed it up a bit for the three days we were there. The hotel was very busy and they replenished things nicely.

Room Tip: All rooms face the freeway, but I think the lower floor you are the more shelter you will have from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear wetravelalot4fun,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the fire regulation policy and the jacuzzi during your stay. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This property was acquired recently by Holiday Inn Express it seems. The hotel is right next to Safeway. The building is built on a slope facing a creek and highway. I would not call the creek a river as it is quite small.

Initially we moved into the lower floor but changed rooms after the room smelled like mold. The room we got was a 'family suite', advertised on the IHG website as "two bedrooms". In reality the room was an 'L' shaped room with a small wall splitting it into two connected parts (no door between the two areas so in reality it is still one room).

The building looks old and the bathroom is ridiculously small. Reminded me of the Ibis Hotels in Europe. You barely can move around in the toilet. The design of the rooms is quite bad - you enter your room by walking through the toilet and sink area. Any noises in the bathroom will easily be heard in the sleeping area. The room had a balcony that is not really useful.

The breakfast and evening receptions were decent compared to other hotels in this category. The staff were very friendly as well. The hotel is quite a drive to downtown Portland and Tigard area (Washington Square Mall).

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the low level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear AfshinM,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property. We work hard to deliver excellent guest experiences but it is unfortunate we weren't able to provide one on this occasion especially with the condition of the room that you were given. Your feedback is essential for us to upgrade on what we can offer.

Despite this, I hope you give us another chance to host you again in the future should your travels bring you back to the area and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel is not spectacular but it's clean and we'll maintained.
The breakfast is basic but always good to have and the best part is that it's included in the price.
With hog weather make sure you jump in the river located behind the hotel, this will add a nice experience to your trip.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments about your recent stay. We do offer a continental breakfast to all our guests. The breakfast has a variety of items to fit most dietary needs which is a plus for many travelers who have restrictions. Our view of the Clackamas River can be very refreshing just to take in instead of jumping in the river.
I hope you will visit us again soon and have the same enjoyable time on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area

Address: 75 82nd Drive, Gladstone, OR 97027 (Formerly Oxford Suites Portland - Gladstone)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on the banks of the beautiful Clackamas River, the Oxford Suites Portland–Gladstone is situated just minutes from shopping, the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center, downtown Portland and the Portland International Airport. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Gladstone Hotel Gladstone
Oxford Hotel Gladstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.