We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and dated, but does the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gearhart by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gearhart by the Sea to your Saves list
Gearhart by the Sea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1157 N Marion, Gearhart, OR 97243   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gearhart
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired and dated, but does the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've stayed here twice and like others have reviewed, the place needs some refreshing. Still, most rooms have ocean view and are adequate if you want a quick getaway. The beach is a short walk and you can drive on the beach if you are so inclined. During prime time, they require a 2 night minimum but we were able to walk in the day of and get a room for a single night. Total was $155.00 including tax. The pool is adequate for little ones and the hot tub was hot but the jets didn't appear to work. GBTS is across the street from McMenanims Gearhart hotel and golf course. The location is pretty good if you want to play golf and don't mind the McMenamims very average food and beer. I can only recommend this place as average though the price isn't bad. We really like the beach there and it is so convenient for families with little ones.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views but the tradeoff is the slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    8
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Solid, but not spectacular. Roomy but dated interiors, on the beach and across the street from a pub and golf course. Gearhart is very quiet, with a small bakery and a few options for dining. I would recommend this for people looking for a nice quiet time on the beach and the chance to play 18.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

When my camping plans with 10 year old daughter got rained out, we made our way northward, looking for a cute (and accommodating) place for the night. I'd hoped for McMenamin's Gearhart Hotel (midweek, I thought maybe a chance...), but the surly desk clerk actually rolled her eyes when I inquired about vacancy. She offered to put us up across the road at "Gearhart By the Sea" for the night..."only" $139 for an average condo. (Properties share the same desk clerk. They should fire her. She epitomizes unfriendliness.) Agree with other reviewers that note this is an outdated, tired property. At 10:00 p.m., however, we settled rather than push on to the even more dubious vibe of Astoria. Room was average--nicely appointed in some ways (fireplace w/Duralog--nice on the stormy night, adequate cookware), but broken down elsewhere (howling bathroom fan, cracked and broken bedroom blinds). Our room was also oriented in such a way that the bedroom faced the corridor which was WELL-LIT! Understand the problem with the blinds? I suppose golfers that have spent plenty of time at the 19th hole don't mind the place, but I would not return. Did I mention that by day, this blockade-type "resort" looks like an asylum? Guess you'd have to be crazy to actually book here in advance. View is nice, though. But watch out for Desk Clerk Ratched!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The view in room 708 was absolutely spectacular! The room was on the 4th floor and it couldn't get any better for relaxing and looking at the Ocean. The town of Gearhart is my favorite on the Oregon Coast. You can drive on part of the beach or go left and walk to an area where cars can't go, so you get the best of both worlds. The restaurants in town are good, the store is great now too and they have everything you could want. The manager at GBTS has been great, he always went above and beyond to make things work out for us. His staff at the front desk is equally nice and great to work with. We have spent at least 3 weeks a year in Gearhart and we happily stay here. If you are going to stay for a view, I would suggest trying to get a top floor in the big building. Plus, the big building gives you access to a great pool, hot tub and nice small little workout area. You can also walk across the street to a nice bite to eat, round of golf, or a warm beverage in the nice bar. We had kids on this trip, but this would be a great option for an adults only or friends trip too!

Room Tip: Make sure to view your room online first and choose what is best for your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at Gearhart By The Sea, Room 748. Very outdated, worn out furniture. Broken toaster. Very few pans, pots. No hair dryer. Looks like someone went to Goodwill and just grabbed stuff to decorate the place. Spacious, but tired looking. Great view of beach, but beat up deck furniture. Front desk didn't answer phone when we had questions. Cannot see beach from indoor pool/hot tub area. No windows that direction in the building.

Room Tip: Rooms are privately owned so ask specifically for one that is updated with nice quality furniture, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gearhart hotels

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I got married in Gearhart last September and Gearhart by the Sea was our home base for the wedding weekend. All of our family and friends stayed at the resort and we had a great experience. I highly recommend checking out pictures of the rooms on their website before booking as the units are privately owned and some are VERY outdated. However, most of our group had moderately updated accomodations and were pleased with their stay. Several rooms have beautiful ocean views and it is a short walk to the beach. And it is only a short drive from Seaside should you be interested in any restaurants or activities in town. Note that the resort office is located in the McMenamins Sandtrap across the street from the hotel. Enjoy a drink or meal at the Sandtrap during your stay!

Room Tip: Check out pictures of the rooms on their website before booking as the units are privately owned and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molalla
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed in condo number 459. Newly remodeled. Good for poochies. Great veiw of the ocean. Would highly recommend this room. 2 bedrooms 2 bath.

Room Tip: Pooch friendly. Easy access to beach. Beds are small and one is hard as a rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
2.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 25 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
11.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#6 of 25 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Boardwalk
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gearhart by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart by the Sea

Address: 1157 N Marion, Gearhart, OR 97243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gearhart by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart By The Sea Hotel Gearhart
By The Sea Gearhart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gearhart by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.