We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gearheart Ocean Inn is a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gearhart Ocean Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gearhart Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Gearhart Ocean Inn
67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bernardsville, New Jersey
1 review
“Gearheart Ocean Inn is a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Gearheart Ocean Inn when we were traveling around Oregon on vacation. What a lovely comfortable place! They did not miss a detail. The area is quiet, residential and only a block from the beach. There is a cute restaurant across the street, hiking paths, public golf course and tennis within walking distance. We wish we had time to stay the whole week!

Room Tip: Rooms are different sizes, ours was a little suite with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    27
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
92
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My Sister came to Oregon to visit me so we decided to go to the beach for a night. Had a hard time finding something on the beach since we waited so long to make a reservation. So, we found this little gem. We frolicked the beach all day so we didn't mind that it was not right on the ocean. The cottage was quiet, clean and just right. There was a little kitchenette so we brought our breakfast with us. The king sized bed was really comfortable and loved walking around the garden shop's grounds the next morning. I will rent this cottage again.

Room Tip: The cottage facing the garden shop's court was quiet and it was nice being able to walk around t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I have been looking in Gearhart to purchase a home and this time we actually stayed in Gearhart at the Gearhart Ocean Inn. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit small but for just the two of us, and our beloved dog "buddy", we made do. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We missed being on the beach but since it was just one night we were happy to walk the few blocks. It is close to everything Gearhart has to offer. Just one caveat here, the Pacific Café and Bakery were both closed from September 30 until about October 15. We surely missed their delicious food and we were not aware that they would be closed. I guess they do this every year. All-in-all the inn is quiet, close to town, and clean. We would stay again but would get a larger room.

Room Tip: The King is very small so if you like to stretch out and have some room to roam choose one of the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This last weekend was our third stay at the wonderful cottages in Gearhart! What a perfect spot to slow down and re-charge. These perfectly appointed cottages have small functional kitchens, bathrooms with pedestal sinks and living rooms with potbelly gas stoves. Upstairs you will find a sweet bedroom with windows that actually open! During the torrential downpours on Saturday, we were dry and cozy inside after a brief dash to the beach to walk the pup. Which reminds me, not only are they pet friendly, but Dogs are actually welcomed with their own basket of goodies, a pet bowl and towels for drying off after the beach!

Gearhart is only a five minute drive from Seaside, but it seems many miles away from the tacky touristy stuff you will find there. From the cottages you have to walk a whole HALF block to an excellent bakery and a wonderful restaurant. Oh dear...... What an effort! It is less than a ten minute walk to the beach!

The cottages have so many small details that end up making your stay delightful- from the sunken garden where you can play croquet and enjoy a glass of wine, to the beach cruiser bikes that are available for anyone to borrow. What a wonderful Inn- we will return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

For anyone looking for a first class get away, The Gearhart Ocean Inn is your answer. My deceased husband and I spent many memorable occasions there. This passed week I hosted two other couples at the Inn. We all enjoyed our stay immensely. Tracey is the ultimate innkeeper and has an excellent staff to see to all your needs. All the rooms are so inviting, and the grounds beautifully maintained. Treat yourself to a stay at this very charming and restful place.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a wonderful experience in celebrating Lynn's birthday here! Our lodging was located in the middle of this quiet, sleepy, little town on the Oregon coast with everything accessible by just a short walk.

Couldn't have asked for anything better to stay than this lovely Inn. --Lynn and Jim

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

In July 2013, my husband & I spent 3 days at the Gearhart Ocean Inn. The weather was beautiful, but even if it had rained we would have been happy to be at the Ocean Inn. Our unit was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. We love the beach cottage charm, the blue & white decor and cozy fireplace. The garden area is perfect for an outdoor game, BBQ or afternoon glass of wine. The location is wonderful for spending time on the beach & walks around interesting neighborhoods. It's a half-block walk to the local grocery, a coffee/ice cream shop, a coffee/bakery shop and a very good restaurant (sadly the bakery & restaurant are closed 2 days a week). I was impressed with the friendly & helpful staff. We didn't have any problems, but felt they would cheerfully take care of anything. Gearhart Ocean Inn is our new favorite beach destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gearhart Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart Ocean Inn

Address: 67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on NBC's TODAY Show! Meticulously restored New England-style attached cottages with gas Franklin stoves, comfortable sofas, fluffy robes and wonderful beds. Choose among cozy studios, family suites with 1-2 bedrooms or a larger 2-bedroom cottage. In the heart of charming Gearhart. Steps to dining, golf, shopping,tennis and a gorgeous, quiet beach. Complimentary DVDs, beach bikes, games and spacious backyard with fire pit & BBQ. We welcome your well mannered pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gearhart Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart Ocean Hotel Gearhart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gearhart Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.