We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, relaxing, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gearhart Ocean Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Gearhart Ocean Inn
67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Midweek Special!
Ranked #1 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Immaculate, relaxing, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First priority when we're traveling - a meticulously clean room. The Gearhart Ocean Inn is absolutely immaculate. Not the superficial faux-clean smell provided by industrial cleaners, but the deep-down clean combination of fresh air, fresh linens, superclean floors.

On a more superficial note - the color choices on the walls and for the bed linens was great. Our end unit (#6) was a really lovely combination of painted beadboard up to the chair-rail level, and a perfect tan wall above. Maybe that tan is overused at Pottery Barn or the Ralph Lauren storefronts, but you know exactly why it's used so much - because it's gorgeous. The light blue (baby blue or a pastel slate blue) bed cover added a little pop of color but blended perfectly with the walls. The use of white for counter cabinets, for the furniture, and in the bath made a standard-sized room seem larger and shouted "CLEAN".

Talk about a great first impression!

One nice aspect of the backyard area that I didn't realize before coming to the Gearhart Ocean Inn was that it was much lower than the road level on two other sides, and surrounded by tall & thick evergreens that formed a nice screen from the neighboring properties. It felt really cozy & private when we were out back having a glass of wine or using the new EVO grill.

The "barn" of loaner bikes was always full when we borrowed two for ourselves, so it sure seems like they have enough for folks who are so inclined.

The Inn occupies the NE corner of a quiet intersection in Gearhart. The realtor on the NW corner might not interest most tourists, but on the SW corner is a grocery store where you can get snacks, beer and wine, or all the fixin's for a full meal. Adjacent to it is an ice cream shop. On the SE corner is a good restaurant for lunch or dinner, with a really good coffee & sweet baked-goods shop attached for the morning.

We chose this location in large part due to the glowing reviews on the Internet, with only the mildest hesitation because it wasn't directly on the beach. After our trip, we should state emphatically that this was a good choice for us. Some of the nearby communities are very busy and commercial at the waterfront, and Gearhart is not like that at all. The nearly-empty beach is fronted by private homes, and as far as we could tell there isn't a large public parking lot near the beach, so it's very uncrowded. The private homes are set back several hundred yards from the beach, buffered by a grass-covered dune area. If you want a quiet beach to enjoy but still want to hop down the road to the bustle of Seaside, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    25
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have been going to Gearhart for decades and remember when this little motel was a run down, seedy last resort and now it is lovely!

I can't believe I can't remember the owner's name, Tracy? Well, anyway, so friendly so helpful as was Lynette at the front desk. Everything about this little motel is sweet and inviting. The garden is gorgeous! There was some sort of lily about to bloom that was huge.

I wish the front windows opened because with nice weather, the room was stuffy and there's no cross ventilation. Bathrooms are marble and new. Linens are nice. Room is supplied with dishes and glasses.

I highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest, So glad the Gearhart Ocean Inn is all renovated after your many visits to Gearhart. We pledge a warm welcome, gracious hospitality, clean rooms and simple comfort. We look forward to inviting you back for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We own a home in Gearhart and have driven by The Gearhart Ocean Inn many times. It happened to be the lowest clam tide of the year and our beach house was rented, so we decided to give the Gearhart Ocean Inn a try and fell in love with it. The rooms are decorated so nicely with a homey beach feel. The kitchen was a plus. It was small, but had everything you would need if you wanted to cook a meal. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was really cute. The office had a stockpile of free DVD's for you to take to your room for free which was a nice perk. The staff were all friendly and accomodating. The location is right across the street from a delicious bakery, restaurant and small grocery store. I would recommend this quaint motel to anyone needing a place to stay in Gearhart.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your many compliments about the Gearhart Ocean Inn. Clammers like you have had a banner season digging for razor clams on the beach in Gearhart. Hope to see you again when the season starts up in the fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our family was very impressed with the Greathart Ocean Inn. We loved the location, the rooms were very neat and clean and the layout of the grounds was an added bonus - lots of room for my little ones to run and play. Gearheart is a great little town close enough to all the action, but removed enough to have a quiet and peaceful getaway. We appreciated meeting the owner of the Inn. She and the rest of the staff made us feel very welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family! One of the best parts of owning the Inn is seeing our guests enjoying the simple pleasure of being together. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love the Gearhart Ocean Inn, not just for the great room, but for the amazing service. I called to request a room that might be best for other guests, because we had a baby and I didn't want to disturb anyone, should there be late night cries. They not only put us in a great location for our fellow travelers, but also put a little crib in the room as well, unasked. We arrived about the time that the local market was closing, and the staff even offered to run to the market while we were unpacking.

All that, and the room was wonderful: clean, well laid-out, comfortable, and bright. We're definitely going back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your warm words about our Inn & service. We love it when guests feel like they are being taken care of by our staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The day after our wedding, my husband and our 2 dogs spent three wonderful nights following our wedding at Gearhart Ocean Inn and it was amazing! The staff was very pleasant, our dogs were welcomed and we loved the size and location of the room. The room had everything you needed, a little home away from home.

The rooms are clean, kitchen had all the amenities you would need, the courtyard was beautiful and if the weather had held up a little more we would have taken advantage of the fire pit, BBQ and bocce ball set!

Also we were able to get their weekday rates at 15% off so we were able to stay for another day. The price was well worth every penny! It was a wonderful place to unwind from a week of wedding craziness, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We were in room #7 which was on the end. We personally enjoyed it and since it's off season, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at the Gearhart Ocean Inn and it is always the highlight of our trip along the stunning Oregon coast. The Inn has everything you need and very tastefully decorated, the way you would do it if it were your own, very comfortable bed and fresh linens, armoire with tv and stereo, gas fired stove, kitchenette with microwave, fridge, dishes coffee/tea, marble bathroom with terry robes. The owners and staff make you feel very welcome, like old friends of the family and they will take care of any little details like making dinner reservations or lend you a video or bikes (no extra cost).
We live in Vancouver, BC, and Gearhart is a comfortable days drive away. Gearhart defines the perfect sleepy hamlet with a corner grocery and fabulous restaurant/bakery at the Pacific Way Cafe across the street. It is just a short walk to the beach. If you want shopping or more lively touristy activities, the towns of Seaside and Cannon Beach are just a few minutes drive away. But we love the peace and quiet of this cozy community. We look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly place but they also have non pet rooms so let them know if you have a dog and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gearhart Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart Ocean Inn

Also Known As:
Gearhart Ocean Hotel
Gearhart Ocean Hotel Gearhart
Address: 67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meticulously restored New England-style attached cottages with gas Franklin stoves, comfortable sofas, fluffy robes and wonderful beds. Choose among cozy studios, family suites with 1-2 bedrooms or a larger 2-bedroom cottage. In the heart of adorable Gearhart. Steps to dining, golf, beach, shopping & tennis. Complimentary DVDs, beach bikes, games and spacious backyard with fire pit & BBQ. We welcome your well mannered pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gearhart Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gearhart Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gearhart Ocean Inn to your Saves list