We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cute, Affordable, and Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gearhart Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gearhart Ocean Inn to your Saves list
Gearhart Ocean Inn
67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super Cute, Affordable, and Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary in August 08 and had a wonderful time! The rooms are all updated in a super swanky and chic style. We used the tiny kitchenette to save money on some of our meals and although we didn't have a ton of room it worked great. The bathroom was really neat too. I especially liked the river rock on the shower floor.
We borrowed, at no charge, bicycles and rode them around town. I highly recommend that; it was really fun. We also borrowed Monopoly from the front desk and the attendant teased us and said, "Why would you want to ruin a good vacation?" But sure enough, we did get into a little tiff over Monopoly.
The location of this hotel is great too. Although it isn't right no the beach, it is within easy walking distance to the beach. There was also a great bakery and restaurant right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the Gearhart Ocean Inn! We are so pleased you have chosen to stay with us year after year. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    27
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
92
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Gearhart Ocean Inn was recommended to me by some coworkers. I was in the market for a weekend getaway, not too far from Portland, and offered a clean - peaceful - sanctuary from every day hustle and bustle. This recommendation was SPOT ON! The Inn is located right between the great Goonie town of Astoria and the wonderful coastal views of Cannon Beach - so we had plenty of activity, sights and restaurants to choose from. The beauty/charm of the Inn is the non-corporate atmosphere and privacy. If you are looking for a two night romantic stay along the Oregon Coast, definitely consider this spot - it won't disappoint.

Tips: Bring a deck of cards, 2 bottles of wine and some peaceful music. Also the cafe across the street is a MUST for morning coffee and pastries - comparable to Paris (odd comment I know, but go first then dispute me).

*Four stars only because I feel five star reviews are dismissed by most who value peer opinion.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great. Right on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you to your coworkers for recommending the Gearhart Ocean Inn to you! We are so glad you had a great time. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and our quaint town. We hope all of our guests get to experience a Gearhart getaway as you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I spend almost every anniversary at the beach, (mostly cannon beach), but this year we decided to try something different and we were so happy we did. We had heard that Gearhart has great beaches and so we looked for a place to stay. There aren't a lot of choices, but the pictures of the ocean inn looked good so we booked our stay. What a pleasant surprise. The room was clean, cozy, and very tastefully decorated. We met the owner of the Inn, the morning of our 1st day. When she found out it was our anniversary, she surprised us by placing two huge chocolate chip cookies in our room with a card signed by staff and the bakery staff from across the street. What a treat!! Gearhart has everything you need to enjoy the weekend, without even going to another beach city. There is a restaurant, bakery with great treats and great coffee, and grocery store and candy shoppe. We didn't even make it to the few gift shops in town... Oh darn, another trip to Gearhart is in order. We would definitely stay at the Ocean Inn again. It just might become our favorite place to spend our anniversary weekend. Next time, maybe we can try the bikes out that everyone talks about...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
What a pleasure to chose the Gearhart Ocean Inn to celebrate your anniversary. We look forward to being your annual anniversary getaway spot and more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Gearhart Ocean Inn. Even though we were there in what is considered their off season we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms were clean, quiet, and nicely decorated (a true beach cottage feel). The staff are very friendly and helpful. You are basically steps away from the beach, and as soon as you step out of your front door you can already hear the waves. When you stay at Gearhart Ocean Inn, you get the feel of a small town, but if you forget something at home, or want to do a little shopping as well, you aren't far from stores. Overall it was a great first experience of the Oregon Coast.It was well worth the 10 hr drive to get there, and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again. The summers are glorious here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have been going to the Gearhart Ocean Inn for years...we love it. It is cozy, comfy and charming. Best of all there a bikes, and every imaginable extra you need for a beach getaway. Great location, clean, and wonderful staff. Our favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It is always a pleasure welcoming back our repeat guests. We take pride in our charming Inn and the services & amenities that we offer. We appreciate that our hard word is reflected in your continued patronage. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our family escaped to Gearhart for a weekend birthday celebration. We found the cottages (Fitzgerald) online and were thrilled at how the reality matched the advertising--from the interior appointment, to the well kitted-out kitchen, to the beach cruiser bikes--our expectations were exceeded. Clean, well-decorated, furniture in excellent condition, little touches everywhere that make the difference, including a welcome basket for our dog. The beds and bedding are super comfortable too. Lynette the weekend host was very helpful, digging to the bottom of the fire-ban question for us (our only disappointment being NOT having a beach fire, but that was nothing to do with them) and pointing us in the right direction for a lovely bottle of wine after the local grocery store had already closed.

The cottgae/inn location is great, close to the beach, local tennis courts, and the best homemade scones anyone could hope for at Pops. We fell in love with Gearhart, and will definitely stay at the Fitzgerald cottage again. As we left I checked out the rooms at the inn in case we decide to do an extended family trip. Although they are too small for our family, if we were just a couple or family of three, they would be a great alternative.

Room Tip: Room 14 is spacious--easily accommodated our family of five with two almost adult children and a dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your birthday celebration with us on the Coast. As you kindly described we only advertise what you will see when you walk into our charming, well appointed rooms. Sadly, the fire ban was out of our control but glad to hear it didn't dampen your spirits and you found other wonderful things the town offers, plus the most delicious scones at Pop's. We hope to have you and your family return for many more celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Gearhart Ocean Inn 3 times over the 18 months, each time with our 35 lb dog. This is by far the best place we have ever styaed that allows pets in room, and one of the few that makes you feel quite welcome with your pet. The rooms are charming and comfortable. The whole setup fits in so well with Gearhart, which is a small, quiet and quant old style beach town. We have traveled all over Oregon and this is our favorite beach and place to stay at a beach.

I have also had two small business meetings in Gaerhart, stayed at the assigned hotel property for one and on the second went back the Gearhart Ocean Inn. All of the other conference attendees were jealous of me at teh second meeting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments about our charming pet friendly Inn and town. We What a treat having a quaint cozy Inn like ours in the town you have to travel for business. We look forward to continuing to impress you as your return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gearhart Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart Ocean Inn

Address: 67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on NBC's TODAY Show! Meticulously restored New England-style attached cottages with gas Franklin stoves, comfortable sofas, fluffy robes and wonderful beds. Choose among cozy studios, family suites with 1-2 bedrooms or a larger 2-bedroom cottage. In the heart of charming Gearhart. Steps to dining, golf, shopping,tennis and a gorgeous, quiet beach. Complimentary DVDs, beach bikes, games and spacious backyard with fire pit & BBQ. We welcome your well mannered pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gearhart Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart Ocean Hotel Gearhart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gearhart Ocean Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.