We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleased customer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate's Cove Restaurant

Pirate's Cove Restaurant
14170 Highway 101 Ave N, Garibaldi, OR 97118-1515
503-322-2092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 restaurants in Garibaldi
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Madras, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very pleased customer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food was outstanding!! Have eaten there other times and always more than happy with the meals. Others in the group felt the same.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    73
    58
    21
    28
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped at Pirate's Cove for breakfast on our trip down 101. It was a random "hey let's stop here" place. Loved it! The view was amazing, the waitress was helpful and enjoyable. We didn't have a wait, it was mid-week and mid-morning.
I had the dungeoness crab eggs Benedict and he had the coconut french toast. The portions are huge and the food was hot and delicious.

Price wise, for what we noticed along the coast, this was on the upper end of what I would call casual dining prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“view to die for and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

we've been coming here since the '80's, and it's food/view is superb. we met for lunch with some friends. i had a bud, my partner had a hefervizen, and another friend had an o'douls. all were thirst quenching. a basket of bread and butter quickly arrived and it was tasty. i had the almond petrale sole from astoria, with salad/1000 island and my partner had the garibaldi tuna with salad and blue cheese. our friends had the steamer clams and sald/blue cheese, plus fries, french onion soup, and for dessert, creme brulee and blackberry cheesecake. excellent. the server, who birthday it was, was so friendly. she's been working there for years. she is funny and friendly. thx

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service - Threw our Food away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had been there once before and the food is really yummy! This past July, (2013) we waited only about 20 minutes to be seated, not bad, but then it took another hour and we still didn't have our food. We needed to leave and asked for to go boxes for our family of 4 and the waitress came back out to tell us, and i quote, "when I told the chef you were leaving, he dumped all your food in the trash".......... WHAT??!! We waited nearly 1.5 hours to not even taste our food?!!! Why did she say it like that to the chef instead of politely asking if we can get it to go? She said it like she didn't care. POOR SERVICE. Ruined our one night out that week of vacation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Oyster Stew, Great View.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for our first meal on the Oregon coast. It couldn't have been better. Big, comfortable booths with a beautiful view of the water. The best Oyster stew I've ever tasted. Fast, friendly service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Cove Restaurant also viewed

 
Garibaldi, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Pirate's Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate's Cove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.