We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate's Cove Restaurant

Pirate's Cove Restaurant
14170 Highway 101 Ave N, Garibaldi, OR 97118-1515
503-322-2092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Garibaldi
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Descent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on the way back up north as it is right along the highway. It has a nice view. It is quite an expensive place to eat. And we were not blown away by the food, it was not bad but we were not wowed. Wait staff was friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    67
    24
    28
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Deplorably slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

No one should have to wait an hour for breakfast. Food was good. Wait staff was nice, but they need to suck it up and hire more cooks. If you have half a day to kill, this place is for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go for the view, stay for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I went here for dinner one evening, based on favourable reviews on TripAdvisor, and we very much enjoyed it. First, there's a great view of the ocean (inlet) from every table. The restaurant was full and very busy... the waitstaff were hard-working and very efficient (one suggestion: try not to sit too close to the passageway to the kitchen). I had the clam chowder... one of the best that I had on the Oregon coast... followed by the Prawn & Scallop Sauté, which was tasty and hit the spot. My wife chose the Caesar with blackened halibut; she proclaimed it to be very good. the menu was long and extensive, and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I wish that I could tell you about the food at this restaurant but we could not get served. The whole place has about 12 tables, we were seated and given water. 20 minutes later we got up and left. There were at least 3 servers but none of them would talk or look at us. There were at least two other tables that looked like they had been waiting for food for a long time. We were very disheartened by the time we finally got up and left (no one noticed).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Only decent place in area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spectacular view over lagoon, cute outside but dated inside, air con needs turning up, having said that food very good crab cocktail and steak very good. Get there early as window seats a premium. Good service and excellent wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Cove Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pirate's Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate's Cove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.