We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Restaraunt” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Grand Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McMenamins Grand Lodge
3505 Pacific Ave, Forest Grove, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 57 Restaurants in Forest Grove
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique Restaraunt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stopped by for a late lunch during the work week. Unlike other reviews, our service was attentive and good. The menu had typical bar food items with some specials. Some in our group had sandwiches. The sandwiches were good but was surrounded with a lot of bun.

One of the main attractions is the atmosphere of the establishment. It's surrounded by unique art, stained glass and tile work. Stroll though the basement, hotel and grounds for a unique experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Need to do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Grand Lodge is a beautiful historical building, with perfectly manicured gardens, all in a gorgeous Forest Grove Oregon setting. Given that, it amazes me how management can allow such crappy food service in such a facility. I have returned here a couple of times thinking maybe I just hit some bad nights. No such luck.
Service has always been horribly slow, even when the restaurant wasn't crowded.
Menu is very limited and quite unimaginative.
Food quality is marginal and quite bland to say the least.

Food service in the bar appeared to be even worse. I could hear multiple people complain about orders being messed up. I could even hear the bartenders swearing at the kitchen staff for being "a bunch of morons".

My recommendation would be to stop at Grand Lodge, take in the beautiful facility, have a couple of cold beers (their craft beers are great) and then go eat someplace else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“McMenamins reserved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I love these restaurants and the food but the service is always lacking. I met a friend in the parking lot to go biking to Hagg Lake and back. We got back hungry and thirsty at 11:45 AM. We wanted lunch. Lunch menu begins at noon. Okay we will be happy to sit outside on the porch until noon to order our burgers. Service is always slow. But we were happy to relax in the sun. McMenamins staff was slow to every table outside on getting their food. I do not know what the problem is. The quality of the food is good. But the fresh cut fried are always soggy and greasy. I am going to stick to the salad. I like McMenamins and I will be back but you could improve the prompt service for all 4 tables outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“This McMenamins food service needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

There are over 90 McMenamins in Oregon and Washington, all servicing the same choices of food for the most part since most are just local pubs. So expect bar type food at most of them.

The few that are also hotels normally have several small pubs on site along with their main restaurant, like this one. However, all of their on site pubs' food comes from the one main kitchen on site. And it appears that if you order food in one of the pubs, it takes a lot longer to get your meal than if you just go to the main restaurant to eat. It is in these main restaurants that you will find a much expended menu too. It's mostly sandwiches and burgers in the pubs, but full entered meals are only found in the hotel's main restaurant which normally a lot pricer then in the pubs.

This hotel and restaurant is just that. Good bar food in the pubs at reasonable prices, with fair to good food at much higher prices in the main restaurant. So I recommend that you stay in one of its small on-site pubs and just order a burger or small pizza with your beer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“As always, met expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My family and I recently ate at McMenamins in Forest Grove for the first time. We had eaten at McMenamins in Portland and in Lincoln City, and as usual we were pleased with what we got. It is wonderful to have a restaurant that provides both good food and gluten-free options. Loved it!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMenamins Grand Lodge also viewed

 

Been to McMenamins Grand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Grand Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.