We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hang out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Grand Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added McMenamins Grand Lodge to your Saves list
McMenamins Grand Lodge
3505 Pacific Avenue, Forest Grove, OR 97116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forest Grove
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have stayed at several McMenamins hotels over the years, and the Grand Lodge is our second favorite (behind the Edgefield, which is incomparable). We enjoy savoring a beer on the balcony during the warmer months, or enjoying a fire in one of the corner parlors when it is colder. We especially want to thank Brianna for resolving a small problem with our reservation, and making sure that we got our favorite room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    31
    10
    13
See reviews for
27
55
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I absolutely love the McMenamin's hotels and would choose to stay at one over any other standard fare hotel just for the art, the ambiance, and amenities. Grand Lodge doesn't quite rank with Edgefield, but it comes a close second. Upsides include on-site Frisbee golf, three bars to choose from, good food, a large outdoor soaking tub, and a renovation that mixes history and magic for a wonderful place to sightsee. The service was polite, helpful, and friendly in all parts of the hotel in my experience. Downsides include the location - Forest Grove was pretty remote from Portland, and the lack of A/C. Also, they have stopped showing nightly movies in the theater sadly, which was one of the great activities at Edgefield last time I stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich J, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing us! We are glad you had a good time.
Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend for our recent trip to the northwest. We couldn't have been more pleased. The concept is great and the decor was very eclectic. The rooms are affordable and nicely kept. It isn't air conditioned, but with the window screen and fan that was provided, we were very comfortable. The grounds are lovely and the food was very good. We would definitely come here again!

Room Tip: We stayed two different times on this trip and found both rooms to be quiet. I appreciate the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich J, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing us! You guys were a pleasure to serve; we hope to see you next time you are in Forest Grove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is another in the series of unique McMenamins properties, owned by the Masons and now being rented for use as a hotel. The property is nicely kept up, and the unique painting is in evidence here, so can be fun to "sightsee" within the hotel. However, it is a large brick building with absolutely no tree cover, so when it is hot, the box fans you are given don't cool anything down, even when it is in the 50s overnight. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but there is little to do on the property and nothing close by to do.

The flip side is that if you are planning events there are a series of very nice gathering rooms with small rooms appointed as bars opening off them. Apparently that is a large part of the business here. We had a lovely time chatting in a jazzy bar that evening.

We tried to eat outside but couldn't get service, moved to the inside restaurant, and had a very long wait for service - but the meal was poor-quality albeit expensive.in spite of the very high cost. One of the waitresses told us they keep costs down by skimping on staff, and it did appear that was the root cause of the problem. Other restaurant options are 30 minutes away, so it can get difficult to find a place to eat later in the evening - plan ahead!

The soaking pool is nice, but so small that it is quickly overcrowded.

Room Tip: Doors slam, and bathrooms are shared. Not the best place for a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rich j, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Although it is hard to hear negative reviews, we do appreciate the time you took to help us improve our service.
The level of service you received is not consistent with our company standards and we hope that you will give us another chance.
I hope that you would do us a favor in responding to a private message I sent you asking for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Lodge for a birthday/anniversary celebration. The building is wonderful with all the attention to detail and artistic presentation that McMenamins hotels are known for. The food was wonderful. We had one of the specials of the day, BBQ babyback ribs. They were perfect, and the desert selections were wonderful as well.

BUT the really wonderful part was the staff. From the front desk, to the cook who gave me the recipe for the marionberry crumble to the spa staff, everyone was cheerful, helpful and made us feel right at home. We'll go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rich j, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am very glad to hear you had a great time! We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed as several McMenamins over the years. Our stay at the Grand Lodge was bad enough to stop us from returning again.
Pros: The Grand Lodge is a beautiful hotel. The massages we received were also very nice. Since we were very relaxed, and the spa is the only air conditioned space in the hotel, so we didn’t want to leave.
Cons: The restaurant and bar service is some of the worst I’ve ever had. We had dinner in the main hotel restaurant. After 30 minutes of waiting to order our meal we had to wait an additional hour for our food. The restaurant was not busy and when we finally asked, and received, our dinners the salads were warm from waiting under the heating lamp for so long. That was gross. A few hours later we went to the outdoor bar and didn’t get waited on at all despite our multiple attempts to get the wait staffs attention. Eventually my husband went inside to the bar to order our drinks.
For the price, the room was very disappointing. It was small, no bathroom, hot (no AC or enough windows to create a draft), and the mattress was atrocious. By atrocious I mean you could feel the springs.
I wouldn’t recommend this hotel or its restaurants or bars to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rich j, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Although it is hard to hear negative reviews, we do appreciate the time you took to help us improve our service.
The level of service you received is not consistent with our company standards and we hope that you will give us another chance.
I hope that you would do us a favor in responding to a private message I sent you asking for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Forest Grove hotels

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our group of seven stayed at McMenamins Grand Lodge for a bachelorette party and had an absolute blast. Rooms are small, no TV, no A/C, shared bathrooms accessed by key card on each floor, but bed was comfortable, each room comes with a box fan for the window, and rooms have a sink and mirror for basic grooming. Be sure to ask for earplugs at the front desk when you check in because you will need them. The venue is popular for weddings and during the summer they play movies on the lawn at dusk. Add groups such as ours staying up late playing cards and you will feel like you're in a dorm without an RA. The food in the restaurant is adequate, morning pastries are killer, free coffee is strong but sour. There are four bars on the property and our favorite by far was Billy Scott on the 2nd floor. No pool, but there is a pool sized soaking hot tub outdoors, tucked into a corner of the building and sheltered by trees/shrubs. There is also a disc golf course and you can borrow discs at the front desk, though we brought frisbees and probably insulted the "professional" disc players trying to share the course with us. Overall an epic weekend. Avoid it if you are looking for something quiet and romantic.

Room Tip: No A/C, so in the summer try to get a basement room. However, make sure it isn't near the soakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to McMenamins Grand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Grand Lodge

Address: 3505 Pacific Avenue, Forest Grove, OR 97116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Forest Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forest Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make a grand escape to McMenamins Grand Lodge! It's all in the details here, with the stately columns and winding drive, wide green lawn, 77 European-style guestrooms, restaurants and small bars and some of the most fantastic artwork to ever grace these walls.Built in 1922 as a Masonic & Eastern Star home, the Grand Lodge has stories to tell. Renovated and opened by McMenamins in 2000, what was once tranquil and serene is now vibrant and colorful. Here the walls do speak... as do the doorways, the hallways, and even the overhead pipes. (Look up...)Inspired by the history of the city of Forest Grove and the building itself, McMenamins' artists have infused the Grand Lodge with original artwork and historical photographs – all tributes to the cast of characters who left their mark before us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your McMenamins Grand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Grand Hotel Forest Grove
Mcmenamins Grand Forest Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Grand Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.