We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Small Plates at 1910 Main

Small Plates at 1910 Main
1910 Main St, Forest Grove, OR 97116
5034307014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 57 Restaurants in Forest Grove
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Battle Ground, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch during a day in the Oregon wine country. The place was nearly empty at 2:00 in the afternoon on a Saturday, but the service was friendly, the food was good and the wine selection was decent. The décor was the best part of the restaurant, somehow managing to blend ultramodern lines, warm wood, and antique farm implements (I know, it sounds weird but it actually works). The restaurant appears to be the nicest choice for lunch in Forest Grove.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coppell
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Eclectic Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This restaurant has a eclectic menu of fresh food and deserts. It was reasonably priced with a courtyard area for dining and a bar. The service was excellent considering we had a large group of adults and children.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Meat not cooked to order, but tastey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our lunch was marred by a waitress who, after giving us our menus, started chatting with a co-worker, forgetting about us. We finally flagged down another waitress who went to get ours.

We ordered a buffalo burger with salad ($14), and even though we requested it well-done, it was medium at best. The other item ordered was a steak with fries ($15). The steak was ordered medium-well and arrived medium-rare. The flavors were very good for both meals - just undercooked for our preferences. If the meat had been cooked to our requests, we would have been much more pleased.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were in nearby Newberg to attend a wedding and decided to take a drive to the charming town of Forest Grove. My husband found 1910 Main through Trip Adviser and it sounded very good, so we gave it a try for lunch. We sat outside in a courtyard as it was a very pleasant day. We each ordered a sandwich from the menu.

I ordered the Mushroom and Quinoa Burger with blue cheese, pickled onion, and arugula and it was very tasty. The way they prepared it gave a bit of a crunch from the quinoa that I really liked. My husband ordered the Oregon Lamb Burger with red onion jam, arugula, and goat cheese and it was delicious, as well. The fries that came with my order were very nicely seasoned and the clam chowder that my husband had was outstanding. There are so many ways to make white clam chowder but theirs was close to, if not the best he has ever had...and he is a clam chowder affectionado of sorts.

Because we had taken the long way to Forest Grove, we inquired of the waiter, Cole, if he knew of a quicker way back to Newberg. In addition to providing friendly and excellent service, Cole was very helpful and came back to our table with precise directions written out for us.

We would definitely like to go back to 1910 Main again, perhaps for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch in the wine country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you're visiting wineries, it's a good idea to break for lunch. We found this American Bistro a perfect spot for lunch. The mushroom & quinoa blue cheese burger was the best vegetarian burger I've ever had - crisply toasted quinoa combined with the mushrooms, and baked to a moist delicious patty. My husband's 1910 club was also perfect. Great service, great food, AND good wine for the one who wasn't driving.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Small Plates at 1910 Main also viewed

 

Been to Small Plates at 1910 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Plates at 1910 Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.