We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find - Great Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
1155 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Florence B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a Find - Great Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

From the FIVE course breakfast with home made jams, jellies and salsas, to freshly prepared souffle and your choice of coffee or tea and a homey room with a jet tub, this bed and breakfast simply cannot be beat in this small Oregon town. Edwin K, a former chef as we discovered, has owned this bed and breakfast for several years and it shows as he discussed the sights and must see attractions during breakfast with ease. He is quick with recommendations for dinner and other suggestions. Our room was outstanding with a very comfortable bed. Internet is free, but there is no television if that is important to you as a traveler.

Room Tip: All rooms were fine, we chose the first floor for ease of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    17
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
71
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found this wonderful place around 6 PM one evening, thought we'd enjoy staying with an entertaining and sincere owner. It was a great experience, classic heritage building, beautifully maintained by a proud and detail oriented owner who made us feel so welcome and at home ! Spotlessly clean, quiet, walking distance to the historic part of town, and recommended a very nice restaurant for dinner. Breakfast with Marv is an experience not to be missed. everything is homemade, delicious and after 5 courses you won't be thinking about lunch anytime soon! We will be back to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask Marv, he will advise you as to the appropriate room, there are 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My cousin and I decided to drive down the 101 from Seattle to San Diego. Florence Or. was our first stopping point. After reading review's and deciding to stay at a B&B ( for the first time )we chose Edwin K. We couldnt have picked a better place to stay after a long rainy drive from Seattle. The area the house is located is at the end of old town Florence. It is quite, and cozy, you felt like you were at home, and is walking distance from shops and restaurants. Marv & Laurie do a fantastic job at making you feel welcome. They are genuinely wonderful people and you can't forget Marv's sense of humor! The room is spacious, with a comfortable bed and bath. The house is gorgeous inside. I loved the originality of the house and the antiques inside. Now the food is amazing. Nothing ever beats a home cooked meal! Especially when you will be on the road for a while :) if your hungry don't worry you will receive what will seem as countless courses. Everything we consumed was all homemade! From the jams and salsa to the scones and coffee cake. If I am ever in the area again while Marv & Laurie are owners you bet I will be stopping by. Thank you for a wonderful night's stay at your B&B!

Vanessa & Vanessa

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here recently on a business trip. Unlike many bed and breakfasts, the owner promptly returned my inquiry call and I was able to make a reservation for the same evening. The price was reasonable, the home itself is immaculate and beautiful and my room was spacious and comfortable. I was happy to find a place without a television, also and I enjoyed the peace and quiet with a chance to read and relax. The house is a very short walk from old town Florence and the owner was helpful with restaurant recommendations. I had an early departure and cannot comment on breakfast, but I plan to stay here again! Thank you to the friendly, accommodating and gracious hosts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Marv the owner is Marvelous! Always happy to answer questions about the local area.
The food is Marv-elous too! I think we have a theme going here.

Can't recommend this fine establishment enough. The rooms are neat and clean and well appointed.

Ran by a husband and wife team that are very kind and gracious.

Thank you for a memorable visit to the lovely town of Florence.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi sweet is very luxurious and relaxing with the large jetted bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Marv & Laurie are lovely host and the house has loads of character and history. The rooms were very clean, large and comfortable. The highlight of the accommodation was Marv's 5 course breakfast, made with local produce, a real feast. The location of the B&B is a short stroll to the old town of Florence, which as the Edwin K B&B, is a charming and friendly place and we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Had a wonderful stay in this charming house. Marv made us feel very welcome and the hospitality was fantastic. Bedrooms are very big with a old fashioned bath in our room which was very decadent to have a soak in. We went in January and were lucky to get a sunny day which made the view spectacular. Marv and Laurie laid on a 5 course breakfast promptly at 9am which was scrumptious. Would love to get back thee in summer.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room with a view of the dunes and a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edwin K Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1155 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1914, the Edwin K Bed and Breakfast defines the traditions of fine accommodations. You may choose from six spacious beautiful rooms that offer custom designed private baths. A five-course breakfast is included for those staying in the B&B. Tea, sherry, and cookies are served at 5:00 p.m. each evening. In addition to our B&B facilities, we also a separate Apartment Suite that sleeps 4 people and is suitable for families and/or those who want more privacy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwin K Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Edwin K Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list