We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most welcoming and delightful hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Edwin K Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1155 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Florence B&B and Inns
Vail, CO
1 review
“Most welcoming and delightful hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Marv the owner is Marvelous! Always happy to answer questions about the local area.
The food is Marv-elous too! I think we have a theme going here.

Can't recommend this fine establishment enough. The rooms are neat and clean and well appointed.

Ran by a husband and wife team that are very kind and gracious.

Thank you for a memorable visit to the lovely town of Florence.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi sweet is very luxurious and relaxing with the large jetted bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    17
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
78
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Marv & Laurie are lovely host and the house has loads of character and history. The rooms were very clean, large and comfortable. The highlight of the accommodation was Marv's 5 course breakfast, made with local produce, a real feast. The location of the B&B is a short stroll to the old town of Florence, which as the Edwin K B&B, is a charming and friendly place and we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Had a wonderful stay in this charming house. Marv made us feel very welcome and the hospitality was fantastic. Bedrooms are very big with a old fashioned bath in our room which was very decadent to have a soak in. We went in January and were lucky to get a sunny day which made the view spectacular. Marv and Laurie laid on a 5 course breakfast promptly at 9am which was scrumptious. Would love to get back thee in summer.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room with a view of the dunes and a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

On a driving holiday from Australia, southbound along the coast we were recommended to stop for the night in Florence. Dark & cold, the warmth of the sitting room viewed from the street caught our attention. Marv was a delightful, welcoming & informative host. The Winter room with 100 plus year old cast iron tub was a treat. A full home-made 5 course breakfast sent us on our merry way this morning. Easy walking distance from old town.

Room Tip: Winter room has gorgeous old tub for a long soak
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I celebrated my "milestone" birthday with a night at the Edwin K, a beautiful bed and breakfast in Florence, Oregon's Old Town. The home is beautiful, and its antiquity has been preserved while still affording modern comforts and conveniences like a refrigerator in the room, and a jacuzzi tub with shower in the bathroom. Each room has its own theme (we stayed in the Indian Summer room on the main floor), with really charming furnishings. Our hosts, the current owners of the home Marv and Laurie, were wonderful and very attentive to their guests. Home baked cookies and sherry awaited us in the evening when we returned from our outings, and coffee service in the morning before a incredible multi-course breakfast.

Built in 1914, this historic 98-year-old Sears "Craftsman" home, was the former residence of Edwin Kyle, son of one of the founding families of Florence, Oregon. Marv and Laurie have maintained its charm, and provided a beautiful and comfortable getaway on the Oregon coast. Check it out online (http://www.edwink.com), then make your plans to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found the Edwin K by driving past the motel down the street and decided to give it a try.Marv was a nice host and the house was very clean. The craftsmanship of the home was excellent and it was filled with antiques. Although we're not into B&B's because we prefer privacy and modern accommodations, we had a comfortable stay and made new friends. Here are a few pros and cons. Good location, 1 block from restuarants/bars and it was a quiet street. We slept with window open and didn't hear a thing. Bathroom was in the room, no separation from bedroom. Good sized rooms. Fine mattress but queen size. Our friends got the only king size mattress. There are no TV's anywhere. I realize TV is overated and most folks probably like B&B's for this reason but there's not even a TV in the bedroom. No worry, they have wifi so we connected to Netflix via our iPad. Biggest con - there are a LOT of rules. Like 3 pages of rules. I only learned about the rule book after we left because I wasn't the one who checked in, Had I learned about them we probably would have gone to the motel because I don't want to feel paranoid. Marv, don't get defensive about this like the other review. I understand we're guests but I'm also a paying guest. Trust me, folks who decide to stay at the Edwin K aren't the kind of folks who need tons of rules. It's extreme worrying about guests using a towel to remove make up, etc, etc, etc. Guests should respect anothers home but paying guests should feel comfortable too. It's a trade off and it's the business you chose so. relax on the rule book. We missed the breakfast but our friends told us it was excellent. In summary, I'd recommend this place for 1 night but I'd ignore the rule book, relax like it's your home. walk to one of the restuarants and bring an iPad and a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwink, Owner at Edwin K Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is important to us that our guests are happy with their stay - we don't take it lightly when a guest is not happy with their time with us.

We have approximately 2,500 guests per year here at the Edwin K B&B. We have been here 9 years, and have had some guests who did not respect this as not only a B&B, but also our home. It is because of our experiences with some of our guests that we have 1 1/3 page "Things to Know about your room and the B&B" - we don't even call it "rules." We only have a few things that may be considered "rules," such as quiet time hours; if you spill something, let us know so we can remove the stain; no excess alcohol drinking that results in being drunk and disorderly; and no smoking allowed. This is only about 1/2 of a page - it is NOT 3 pages as you stated. The rest of this useful information and helpful tips to make your stay more pleasant. They are also to make the stay of other guests enjoyable - if guests in one room are drunk, noisy, and fighting, it could ruin everyone's stay. As far as the rules on not using the white wash cloths and towels for makeup removal, we are stating that we are providing you with an alternative way of removing makeup. The rules that we have are basic and "common sense", and were not meant to offend anyone.

There are many nice lodging places that have some kind of list of rules and important information for their guests, whether it is in a book, posted on a wall, or given on a sheet of paper. We tried to make this as part of an information book with things to know about your room and the house, history of Florence, and things to see and do. Just because you are a paying guest does not mean you should be able to do anything you want in your room - you can't even do that in a motel.

We are sorry if you felt you couldn't be comfortable here in our home because of a few rules. Many people have told us that we have a very warm and comfortable B&B, that we make them feel like they are at home. It is our goal to have anyone who stays with us feel like they have had a very nice stay when they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two pleasant nights in the bed and breakfast 'Edwin K' in Florence Oregon. It had been our destination after a pleasant one day drive down costal highway 101. The Edwin K,, built originally as a Craftsman House, was located in downtown Florence. It was within easy walking distance of the 'old' section of town which had a nice selction of restaurants. Our accomadations were clean, quiet and comfortable; the breakfast, five course, ample and very tasty. The atmosphere was relaxed and we found it easy to strike up iinformal conversations with the other guests. It a good base to explore the costal region of Oregon, both north and south.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edwin K Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1155 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1914, the Edwin K Bed and Breakfast defines the traditions of fine accommodations. You may choose from six spacious beautiful rooms that offer custom designed private baths. A five-course breakfast is included for those staying in the B&B. Tea, sherry, and cookies are served at 5:00 p.m. each evening. In addition to our B&B facilities, we also a separate Apartment Suite that sleeps 4 people and is suitable for families and/or those who want more privacy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwin K Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.