We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landmark Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Landmark Inn to your Saves list
The Landmark Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1551 4th Street, Florence, OR 97439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Little Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Inn one night. It's location up on top of a hill makes for a nice view of the sand dunes and river. We were in Room 10. The suite was the perfect amount of space for us. At first I thought the same as another reviewer that the bedroom should have been in the back - but on thinking about it I like it the way it is. You have the gorgeous view from the room you spend your awake time in. It was so nice to sit at the table or on the couch and look out the windows. Our room had a kitchenette and separate bath between the bedroom and living room. We came into contact with 3 people who were working there. All were very nice and helpful. The gentleman in the morning provided us with great information and maps on things to see along our drive north.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello There!
"Thank You" for your kind review. Room #10 (a master suite) is one of my favorite rooms too.. It is good to know that you enjoyed your room and understand why we designed the Landmark Inn floor plan as we did. The Siuslaw river view and the sun are both on the south side of the building / property. That is where we placed the living rooms.
The Oregon Coast is wonderful! I am glad that you enjoyed it... It was a pleasure meeting you.
Best Regards Eugene, Mary Beth and All of the Staff at the Landmark Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    36
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
65
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our 15th Anniversary. The lady at the front desk was very helpful in assisting us in a nice restaurant to eat. The room was clean and quaint. The price was economical. We had the free breakfast in the morning, and it was just right. The gentleman who worked there in the morning was very friendly as well. We will stay here again. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
In a conversation with a friend / employee that worked at the Landmark Inn, he mentioned that he looked up the definition of hospitality in the dictionary and passed on what it said to us. The definition was: to present housing in a friendly, generous and gracious manner.
Your review is to the point and makes us feel as though we have done our job correctly.
"Thank You" for your kind words / review. Congratulations on your 15th Anniversary!
Eugene, Mary Beth and All of the Staff at the landmark Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and our 2 best friends stayed here for one night in March 2013. We wanted a quiet hotel that was not attached to the casino. This property is very small. The rooms are also small, but was sufficient for our one night stay. The sink and mirror are in the room, outside of the bathroom, which was a little strange, but everything worked. The bathroom light switch was outside the bathroom, which made it hard for everyone who was sleeping when someone needed to use the bathroom at night and the shower heads could use some upgrading. Overall this room was fine. It was clean, ready on time, had a mini fridge and microwave. Our problem arose with very noisy neighbors that did not quiet down until after 4 am. I called the number on our check in papers at 2:15 and left a message with the owners. The manager went outside to listen and while he heard our neighbors, he didn't think it was too bad. Our rooms were on the 2nd floor, the manager was in the parking lot and could hear them, but he didn't think it was too bad? Hmmm. After speaking with the manager in the morning (after 2 1/2 hours of sleep), he said he would see what he could do to help us. My husband expected a more concise decision and basically told the manager that he wanted the owner to come to the hotel in the next hour and we wanted a full refund of our hotel price. Which is exactly what they did. They apologized and told us they never have issues like this, and I believe it, because the manager seemed very unsure of how to handle this type of problem. We MIGHT try this place again, if it is just my husband and I and we get an end room. We appreciated the owner's quick response to our request for a refund and honestly, every hotel can have an off night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I passed through and stayed one night. Very clean. Bed a bit too firm, and the room arrangement needed to be flipped ... Put the bed in the back space and the sofa and tv in the front - would help with the light issue. No drapery, only blinds and they let in light from porch all night long. Drapes would also help with the considerable bounce back of noise from nearby highway 101.

Very easy to find and convenient to town.
Very helpful staff.
I would stay here again, but bring push pins and black out shade!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
"Thank You" for your mostly "5 Star" Review of being Very Clean, Great Location, We're Friendly and have Great Customer Service. We received "4 Stars" which is very good, for over- all value. Black out curtains are ordered and are being custom made as we speak. The curtains will be installed asap.
We have rooms that have the sleeping area on the Siuslaw River view side of the building where there are no porch and security lights. Perhaps you should choose that style of room when staying with us next time you are visiting the Oregon Coast.
Our staff works very hard each day to clean each room thoroughly. Because we have larger than usual rooms, 2 housekeepers clean them. We have new pillow-tops on our beds. We are conveniently located on a hilltop, 1 block off of Hwy 101, so you do not hear Hwy noise. Our rush hour lasts about 12 minutes here in Florence, Oregon.
Landmark Inn Staff and Owners
NOTE: In every room there is an information sheet that has all of the local Restaurants and Places of Interest. It also has important information regarding your stay with us. It states; There are many details involved in operating an Inn, so we ask that if you find anything out of place or not to your satisfaction, please contact the Host on duty and they will do everything possible to make the correction.
“Thank You” from the Staff and Owners of the Landmark Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here while painting and cleaning our new house in Florence. When we arrived back at the Inn each evening we were exhausted and just wanted a quiet night. We got it! To begin with, our room included PRIVATE use of a spa building. My tired bones enjoyed the sauna and the spa tub which is cleaned before each guest uses it and filled with fresh water. Nothing better for a clean freak like me. Oh wait! One thing better was the room. Super clean and roomier than most. I can not stress enough the cleanliness of this hotel. The breakfast was very good and we didn't feel like we were stuffing garbage in our mouths. We found this to be the place we refer our out of town friends and family now that we live here. Best value in town!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed one night. It is a value motel and a bit tired. One big issue - the light outside the window stayed on all night and the window only had aluminum blinds - no curtains, thus illuminating the room all night. Would not select to stay here again. All the rooms appeared to have the same lighting situations

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello There,
The Landmark Inn is one of the newer motels in Florence, Oregon. Some of our rooms were built just 2 years ago. Each one of our rooms are a little different. Some of the rooms have the sleeping area on the river side of the building and others have the bedroom on parking lot side of the building. There are many choices to choose from.
We have rooms that have living rooms, full kitchens and spa tubs. Our room rates are from $60.00 - $140.00 per evening. Our rooms are mostly suites and are bigger (12'x34') than most motels rooms. We are not decorated with antiques from Europe, but have nicer furniture than run of the mill, standard motel industry furniture.
A "House Information" & "Restaurants and Great Places To Go" sheet is given out to every guest upon check-in. The house information sheet states;
There are many details involved in operating an Inn, so we ask that if you find
anything out of place or not to your satisfaction, please contact the Host on duty and they will do everything possible to make the correction.
“Thank You” from the Staff and Owners of the Landmark Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Like others we would have liked curtains to block out the light. Other than that it was a great place to stay. Quiet is what we wanted and what we got! The staff was so very helpful and I liked the bed. Nice to have a separate room to read in whlile later sleepers remain undisturbed. We plan on returning with a curtain rod and a blanket to block off any light for our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Folks,
"Thank you" for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Landmark Inn. ROOM DARKENING curtains are ordered and on the way. We thought that 25 watt light bulbs outside and eclipse room darkening mini blinds would do it, but I guess not.
Please come and stay with us again sometime, Owners of the Landmark Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Inn

Address: 1551 4th Street, Florence, OR 97439
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Landmark Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW BLACK-OUT CURTAINS MAY 2013!! We know our competition, and give you the most for your money in Florence lodging! Just 12 unique rooms, built 1998/2008. Half-block off highway, no bridge or highway noise. Panoramic Old Town, sand dunes, and river views. Cozy single queen to deluxe spa suites. New 43" flatscreen TVs. Hearty continental breakfast includes sausage links & cheeses. Free Wifi. Free private use of spa/sauna included. We've been Green forever. You're always a winner at the Landmark Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landmark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.