We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice diner and bar in the old town area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar

Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar
1297 Bay St., Florence, OR 97439-9648
+1 541-997-1133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Eclectic cuisine featuring healthy freshly prepared house made choices. Steaks, seafood, salads, pasta, pizza, vegan . Fun specialty drinks & huge wine selection. Micro brews.
Belmont, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice diner and bar in the old town area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Enjoyable dinner, great service, bar has good selection, well located in the old town, perfect for drinks or a meal

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Brendan, all the way from Australia? Wow! Thank you for writing about our restaurant. We are glad you had a nice time! Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    147
    50
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great live music, good lighting and decor,great hospitality, comfortable, not overcrowded. Great location in old town. Glad we came here :-) the food was delicious. Little spendy but it was worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Steve. Glad you had a good time with us. Hope to see you again. We appreciate the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Character, nice touches, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Enjoyable dinner here. Kind of loud (two of our party mostly deaf) but that's due to the cool, original wood floors (1901?) and high ceilings, which add to the airy atmosphere. Loved that a fresh shrimp cocktail arrived as we sat down. Good price on the quaffable cava got the dinner off to a happy start. Onion rings are HUGE - if you order, hope you have about 5 others to help you. Soup of the day, lima bean, was a complete surprise and ended up being the favorite of the table. Poppy seed dressing for the salad good, but a bit heavy on the raw onion. Dad said the spicy jambalaya was the best he'd ever eaten. He didn't share, which is part testament to that. Salmon was nicely cooked but a bit lacking in overall flavor (no sauces came with it). Varied choice of sides come with entrees, e.g., yams, potatoes, rice, soup or salad. Large menu. Only gluten free dessert was an ice cream sundae. Friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hey Love to travel! That was surely a nice review you gave us! Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope we're on your "to do " list again! (Next time we'll make sure you have some sauce choices with your salmon,ok?)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Thank You Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I were in Florence for an extended weekend vacation, We come here often and enjoy both the Bridgewater and the waterfront depot. We enjoyed two great meals at Bridgewater this weekend. We had reservations to go to the Waterfront Depot tonight. We ended up walking out of the Waterfront Depot after the very abrupt unwelcoming behavior by the lead receptionist. Our table was not ready on time and she was abrupt in just shuffling us through the process. Very unwelcoming! The Bridgewater was bustling and Barbara was very welcoming and had us seated at a great private table for two within 5 minutes. We had lovely full meal at the Bridgewater. Barbara turned the negative experience we had across the street into a great night out.

- Chris

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hey cjc88, glad we could get you in and you had a good time! I've told Barb her kind attention to you was well received. Thanks for posting this and see you next time in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had the crab cakes for an appetizer that were good. They came with a spicy jalapeno as well as a milder option for sauce. The coconut prawns were large and juicy, though you only get 6, they were pretty filling. The salmon pesto pasta was also filling, and the salmon was delicious without the super "fishy" taste. Even though I had to box my dinner, we decided to go for dessert: chocolate brownie. It looks a lot smaller on the menu, and was warm and gooey. It definitely sent us from satisfied to full! Our only issue was our waiter disappeared several times and we didn't get many drink refills. A couple times he even cleared plates, but didn't notice the need for drinks. The times we did get Regis it was tryin the blonde gal upfront, who was very good at checking in with ALL the tables periodically. Overall a great place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Megan, thanks for the great review.We are so happy you chose to dine with us and glad you liked the food.. Although ultimately it's the bussers job to refill drinks I'll make sure the servers are acknowledging and reassuring you'll have one coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgewater Ocean Fresh Fish House and Zebra Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.