We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice treat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BJ’s Ice Cream Parlor

BJ’s Ice Cream Parlor
1441 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439
(541) 997-7286
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 78 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
bothell
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were glad it was still open after we ate dinner. The lady was very nice. There is over 100 flavors of taffy there but we resisted the temptation! The ice cream was a little pricey but it was very good. I'm sure we will visit again when in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try the Other BJ's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I highly recommend going to the BJ's ice cream parlor on Highway 101 (a couple of miles from the BJ's on Bay Street in Old Town). The BJ's on Highway 101 has more flavors because it has more space, and the flavors are wonderful! I tried half a dozen flavors, and they're great. I've never heard of pear flavored ice cream before, but BJ's has it and it really tastes like pears.

I also tried half a dozen kinds of taffy at BJ's, and they were completely flavorless - extremely disappointing. I ended up throwing away the rest. Stick to the ice cream!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very Good Selection and Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place IS THE PLACE for an ice cream cone. Great tasting and high quality ice cream, and the staff is great. Not sure what to select, just ask the staff..they were great at guiding me to the perfect selection .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Locally made”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The ice cream here is locally made. It is good, in fact very good but not top notch. Makes for a nice stop when making a beach trip to Florence. As a local I stop in occasionally for a unique flavor there named "Oregon Trail". Outdoor front porch at the Old Town location makes for a good people watching spot on a sunny day. Another location on Highway 101 is less charming but less congested. A bit steep in price for the budget conscience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice lady at the counter, wife said cheese cake was very good!! They make all there fudge cheese cake and many other items

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ’s Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to BJ’s Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BJ’s Ice Cream Parlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.