We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time with the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Lion Caves

Sea Lion Caves
91560 Highway 101 North, Florence, OR 97439
541 547 3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 10 Attractions in Florence
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the largest sea cave in the United States, this site is where Steller sea lions and their cubs take shelter each year. Sea Lion Caves is a privately owned wildlife preserve and bird sanctuary. The Caves has been in operation since 1932 preserving and protecting the wildlife under our care. We are open 363 days a year only closed on Christmas and Thanksgiving day. Our normal hours of operation are 9 am until dusk year round. We are not a zoo and the animals are free to come and go as they please. The sea lions can usually be found at either of four locations on the property; in the Cave, in the water, at the Lookout/rockery, and on other nearby rock ledges. HOWEVER, THE SEA LIONS ARE NOT ALWAYS IN THE CAVE OR MAY BE MIGRATING OUT OF AREA - THEY ARE WILD ANIMALS AND COME AND GO AS THE PLEASE. CALL AHEAD FOR INFORMATION. Self-guided are the rule, but guided tours are available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sweet Home, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had a great time with the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Smell not bad, not to noisey. Was a good day.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    186
    146
    53
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paradise California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Kids Love This Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I would say this is a must do on the Oregon Coast. You go down in an elevator several feet. You get to see lots of sea lions and learn about them as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We saw over 400 sea lions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Yes it is smelly and dark, but it is a sea lion cave. It was well worth it. It only takes a little time to go down and see them. Perhaps we got lucky, but there were literally hundreds, and moms teaching babies to swim and play as well.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Love this attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was my husband's and my 2nd visit to the Sea Lion Caves, but his nephew & wife's first trip thru Oregon. We are enthralled by these animals, and wouldn't miss an opportunity to see them in such an amazing large group. Hubby's nephew's wife was fixated! She said she could have spent the day watching them.

There are a few concerns, but they're minor. For most people, the walk to the elevators would be inconsequential. However, for us it was a slight issue as one of our party has a heart blockage. We just took it very slow - no problems.

The smell can be overwhelming when you're in the caves. For those with sensitive tummies (like hubby's nephew!), perhaps a tissue with some cologne or perfume?

If we're back on the Oregon coast, we'll definitely visit again. They are fascinating & incredible animals - love viewing them in their natural environment!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sea lion caves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

fun, stinky and loud.....did I say fun! And you can see sea lions on the rocks below all year round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Lion Caves also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sea Lion Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Lion Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.