We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok. Stay here if you can't find anything else.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added River House Inn to your Saves list
River House Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hillsboro, or.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just ok. Stay here if you can't find anything else.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

Stayed here in Late July. Complex currently under construction. Upstairs guests were very noisy on the creaky floors. Some functions of the spa did not work. No air conditioning. Parking lot seemed safe and rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No A/C, some functions of much touted spa did not work.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouseinn, General Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
I'm sorry that this guest did not have a great experience at our property. In 2008 we removed the spa and built a very nice conference room as well as a continental breakfast room which gets rave reviews. I was wondering if this revew could be removed, as we no longer have the spa and we have upgraded the property since then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    172
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
94
236
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We went w/ group of 5 people and stayed there for 1 night. The river view is just soooo romantic. It definitely worth to pay some extra for river view room. The location is great as well. It's within walking distance to old town Florence. A very charming little town!

  • Liked — river view & location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We wanted to stay in Florence Oregon for a beautiful short vacation at Oregon's finest beaches! We read wonderful reviews of this motel. We found it to be clean inside. However, guests sometimes were allowed to smoke on the balcony and the smell can filter into the rooms. Also, the walls and windows are rather thin and obviously not sound- proof and you can hear footsteps all night long- especially from guests who come in at all hours of the night from the Casino and area attractions. So, if you're looking for a great night sleep, don't sleep here. And you can hear vehicles driving through the parking lots all night long. Good luck to you all if you choose this hotel, especially during weekends.

  • Liked — The clean rooms
  • Disliked — Smoke smell, noise pollution
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

The hotel is in a neat area of town and about half of their rooms have balconies and river views, the other half do not. They're currently doing a lot of renovations that are not mentioned on their website, so it is a very noisy place for the price that they charge. The walls are pretty thin between floors, so it is possible to hear just about everything in the adjoining rooms. Once the renovations are complete, it may be a nice place. In the meantime, there are less expensive places in town that are nicer.

  • Liked — The fast wireless DSL and hot water
  • Disliked — Noise, noise, noise.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

The situation is perfect, the room is spacious and clean and the reception is very kind. We don't need more for the price. It is not an hotel with all the services of an hotel but it is an excellent motel. They are doing some renovations, it will be even better.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We happened to run right into the River House while driving around Florence looking for a place for the night. While not the fanciest place I've ever stayed in, it was perfect for what we wanted, a place on the water for overnight. The room was very comfortable and very nicely appointed, and we had a room right on the river, with a balcony. I loved the rubber ducky left for guests in the bathroom! We were able to get a room rate using our AARP membership. The only disappointment was that the hot tub/spa was not available for use.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

My husband and I had really anticipated our trip to the coast. Florence is our favorite location, but it was our first stay at the River House. The room was great! It was very cozy and convenient. There were even extra pillows already in the room which was great because we usually request extra pillows after we get there. We had requested a room on the river to be sure we got one, and that meant the stormy weather was part of the entertainment.

The hotel proprietor was very accomodating and the housecleaning staff did an excellent job. We also took advantage of one of the specials offered on the hotel's website. We stayed three nights and loved every minute of it. My husband, was thrilled with the hotel. He has never been so impressed with a place since I have known him.

  • Liked — Location, coziness of the room, internet access
  • Disliked — No fridge and microwave
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — River House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Old Town Location. Very nice, newly remodeled inn. Continental breakfast, meeting room, guest laundry, free wi-fi, microwave/refrigerator, green environmental measures throughout. On the Oregon Coast. One hour west of Eugene, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Hotel Florence
River Hotel Florence
River Motel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.