We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added River House Inn to your Saves list
River House Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Right on the River looking at the bridge, recommend you ask for a riverview room, some rooms don't have a view. Convenient to walking into the little old town of Florence and walking under the bridge is beautiful. Lots of nice restaurants and touristy stores, and art galleries.
The room is nicely appointed and clean with a comfortable bed. Just loved looking at the bridge and the sand dunes across the river. The breakfast included was so so, would liked to have more fresh fruit, it suits a certain type of person.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review we agree that our river rooms should be tried, They do have a great view. Yes, River House Inn does have a great location and we do have a lot of great little shops and restaurants with in a few minutes of walking. Again, thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    149
    50
    14
    7
See reviews for
85
210
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Room was clean (but small), furnishings up to date. View of the river was great. Location is an easy walk to old town. Breakfast was only so-so...there was a shortage of everything, and no coffee to be had other than what we made in the room.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, our goal her at River House is to help our guest have a great stay. Not sure what happened with the breakfast, We constantly are going over to make sure every thing stocked and we always have 2 to 3 pots of coffee in the breakfast area. After breakfast is over, we still have a coffee pot in the office which is maintained through out the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I loved it here. We splurged for a river view overlooking the dunes and bridge. Fantastic! The rooms are very nice and cozy with a country feel. Very clean rooms and very comfortable bed. Everything you need is in the room. I liked the added touch of make up removal wipes for the ladies and the rubber duck in the bathroom.

The breakfast was fine for being complimentary. A lot of people were crammed into the room but we ventured upstairs and it was empty. Maybe a little sign letting people know they can go upstairs?

Only a minor issue: The young lady was at the front desk all day it seemed and the two times (12pm and 4:30pm) we went into the lobby she was sitting on the lobby couch eating watching her mini ipad. Maybe do that somewhere else? Such a minor issue that they don't affect my rating but just wanted to point it out for a guest perspective on 1st impressions.

We fell in love with Florence and will be back and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast area and our amenities in the rooms. We want to thank you for your comments on our front desk area, we do look for ways to improve our customer service. Again, thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed one night as we passed through Florence. Our room view was beautiful. The room was clean, staff friendly & morning breakfast very delicious. We liked that we could walk downtown for dinner at a variety of different restaurants. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We here at River House, pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms. I feel, that I have a really friendly staff and they work hard on the rooms and to be accommodating to our guests such as yourselves. Again, thank your for you great comments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have stayed twice in the last 2 years just to get away and relax on the Oregon coast. Must select a room over looking the river, with a small balcony to enjoy the scenery. Very friendly front desk and other staff. Short walk to the old town Florence with shops and restaurants. Serves breakfast in a small room, but the food was very good. Most definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Staying upstairs on the river side is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I want to thank you for your most gracious response. We here at The River House Inn pride ourselves in our customer service, cleanliness of our rooms and the comfort of our guest. We want to thank you for using River House Inn as your place of stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been to Florence many times over the years but never stayed there. We were traveling this time with another couple and decided we wanted to stay in Florence. After checking around, I found this hotel listed in TripAdvisor and AAA, and decided to give it a try. This is a gem! We were within walking distance to the shops and restaurants, and had a very nice room overlooking the river, which we requested. The room itself was immaculate! We have never encountered such a well taken care of property and we have stayed at very pricey 4 star resorts. My only suggestion would be that if you do not like traffic noise, but still want a river view, ask for a room a little further away from the bridge. Overall, a very pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room away from the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERHOUSESUSAN, Manager at River House Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
On behalf of my staff and our selves, I want to thank you for your great review.. We here at River House Inn enjoy having and serving guest such as yourselves. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing your next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Our view of the parking lot was not incredibly pleasing. The rooms are hot and stuffy and there is no way to get any air. We has the pleasure in staying in the room next to the laundry. They run the washer/dryer machines late at night and early in the morning. You can hear it and feel it in room 101. The room is small and packed with furniture. Overall not a fan.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosslady897, Owner at River House Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
When we have an unhappy guest, believe me we are doubly unhappy. We are investigating your comment about noise from the laundry room at night. For light sleepers we do provide a “white noise” machine next to the bed that probably would have solved your problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — River House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Old Town Location. Very nice, newly remodeled inn. Continental breakfast, meeting room, guest laundry, free wi-fi, microwave/refrigerator, green environmental measures throughout. On the Oregon Coast. One hour west of Eugene, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Hotel Florence
River Hotel Florence
River Motel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.