We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River House Inn

Save Saved
You added River House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River House Inn
1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Florence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent room, great view from our balcony of the river, bridge and Florence. The room was very tastefully decorated, the bed was really comfortable and the folks on the check in desk were friendly and very helpful. Would stay her again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    135
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
76
190
19
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were here for 1 night in late Sept. Loved the location, but that was all there was to like about the motel. We had a room without a view as all we needed was one night's lodging. The room we had was extremely dark, and definitely needed updating. Carpet was worn and had that sticky feel. Walls were thin and we could hear our nieghbors talking, and hear people walking by the room. We did not eat the continental breakfast, as couldn't check out fast enough. Definitely will not recommend unless I see on their web site that all the rooms are updated and not just the river view rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosslady897, Owner at River House Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We’re puzzled by the comments in this review since we inspected all the rooms and none of the present carpets were worn or “sticky.” We are currently in a complete renovation of all the guest rooms that included new furniture, carpeting, draperies, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Super Bowl Sunday - just walked in with no reservations (not a busy night for hotels) and we were delighted with it! The room was impeccably clean, the bed was great and the linens were very nice. Breakfast was a nice addition in the morning. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation which should be completed by April 2013 according to the manager. I took a peek at the new furnishings and they look really great!

The Manager gave us some fantastic restaurant and entertainment suggestions - all within walking distance of the hotel. we had a great dinner at the Waterfront Depot and then went down to the Traveler's Cove and found an awesome 4 piece blues/rock band that was fantastic! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Looked a little old school from the outside, but while small, the rooms had been nicely updated, were super clean and had great river views. They had a better than average complementary breakfast buffet and free wi-fi. We'd stay again..

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the river side have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked this room because it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor. We drove down to Florence from Portland for an afternoon party and hoped that we could get in and get changed before normal check-in time. They accomodated us, no problem. The room was very clean and the bed was great. I needed an ironing board and iron and the housekeeper was very helpful in getting it for me quickly. There were only two towels in the bathroom so I requested additional towels and they were more than happy to get them for me and our granddaughters loved the little ducky that was on the tub.
It was very quiet there. It seemed like the rooms were booked so you didn't have neighbors which was a nice touch.
I wasn't that impressed with the breakfast. They did have a waffle maker to make your own waffles but it was pretty crowded around there especially with the table & chairs right in front of the counter top where all the food was and the coffee kept running out. The eggs were hardboiled and there was bread to make toast but you had to wait your turn. I wouldn't take points away though because we weren't really there for breakfast and what they offered was a nice touch. We would stay again.

Room Tip: look on the internet to pick your room. Our window looked out to the parking lot and I would have pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in September. The rooms are wonderful. Continental breakfast was so good, and a great way to start a day of sight seeing.Just on the edge of old town and some of the best restaraunts ever. The owners are so nice and met some of the most interesting people at breakfast. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A basic hotel but probably one of the best in town. Great river views from some of the rooms. Good prices. No eating establishment. Breakfast provided however. Free wireless. Near the shops of the old town of Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Old Town Location. Very nice, newly remodeled inn. Continental breakfast, meeting room, guest laundry, free wi-fi, microwave/refrigerator, green environmental measures throughout. On the Oregon Coast. One hour west of Eugene, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Hotel Florence
River Hotel Florence
River Motel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.