We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River House Inn

Save Saved
You added River House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River House Inn
1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Florence
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Super Bowl Sunday - just walked in with no reservations (not a busy night for hotels) and we were delighted with it! The room was impeccably clean, the bed was great and the linens were very nice. Breakfast was a nice addition in the morning. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation which should be completed by April 2013 according to the manager. I took a peek at the new furnishings and they look really great!

The Manager gave us some fantastic restaurant and entertainment suggestions - all within walking distance of the hotel. we had a great dinner at the Waterfront Depot and then went down to the Traveler's Cove and found an awesome 4 piece blues/rock band that was fantastic! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    137
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
77
193
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Looked a little old school from the outside, but while small, the rooms had been nicely updated, were super clean and had great river views. They had a better than average complementary breakfast buffet and free wi-fi. We'd stay again..

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the river side have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked this room because it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor. We drove down to Florence from Portland for an afternoon party and hoped that we could get in and get changed before normal check-in time. They accomodated us, no problem. The room was very clean and the bed was great. I needed an ironing board and iron and the housekeeper was very helpful in getting it for me quickly. There were only two towels in the bathroom so I requested additional towels and they were more than happy to get them for me and our granddaughters loved the little ducky that was on the tub.
It was very quiet there. It seemed like the rooms were booked so you didn't have neighbors which was a nice touch.
I wasn't that impressed with the breakfast. They did have a waffle maker to make your own waffles but it was pretty crowded around there especially with the table & chairs right in front of the counter top where all the food was and the coffee kept running out. The eggs were hardboiled and there was bread to make toast but you had to wait your turn. I wouldn't take points away though because we weren't really there for breakfast and what they offered was a nice touch. We would stay again.

Room Tip: look on the internet to pick your room. Our window looked out to the parking lot and I would have pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in September. The rooms are wonderful. Continental breakfast was so good, and a great way to start a day of sight seeing.Just on the edge of old town and some of the best restaraunts ever. The owners are so nice and met some of the most interesting people at breakfast. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A basic hotel but probably one of the best in town. Great river views from some of the rooms. Good prices. No eating establishment. Breakfast provided however. Free wireless. Near the shops of the old town of Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This was an awesome place to stay. The office was beautiful with Christmas decorations and a warm cozy fire. The owner was cheerful and happy. He even called our room to see if everything was well and informed us of the great restaurants within walking distance. Our view looked out over the bay and you could see the cool looking bridge crossing the Siuslaw which was very pretty at night. The room was nicely decorated and roomy. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I were driving down the coast of Oregon when it came time to find accomodations for the night. I saw the River House in a travel brochure and gave a call: Susan, the owner answered. She was very helpful, giving price for the stay and directions. The Inn is nestled at the edge of Old Town Florence, on the river banks. Our room had a great view of the river and bridge. It was quiet and exceptionally clean - I mean GLEAMING. The outside access to the rooms and "old fashioned" metal keys added to the charm. Susan has thourough knowledge of Florence's many excellant restaurants. She gave us 3 recommendations on that evening, allowing us to make our decision, not just directing us to a partner's establishment. After a wonderful meal we had a great night's sleep on an exceptional bed - after a week of uncomfortable hotel beds, finally a good night's sleep! All of this in two cloudy, damp, rainy days & nights - like a ray of sunshine! A good value and nice people.

Room Tip: Head to "Old Town Florence"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Old Town Location. Very nice, newly remodeled inn. Continental breakfast, meeting room, guest laundry, free wi-fi, microwave/refrigerator, green environmental measures throughout. On the Oregon Coast. One hour west of Eugene, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Hotel Florence
River Hotel Florence
River Motel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.