We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added River House Inn to your Saves list
River House Inn
1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place - good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked this room because it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor. We drove down to Florence from Portland for an afternoon party and hoped that we could get in and get changed before normal check-in time. They accomodated us, no problem. The room was very clean and the bed was great. I needed an ironing board and iron and the housekeeper was very helpful in getting it for me quickly. There were only two towels in the bathroom so I requested additional towels and they were more than happy to get them for me and our granddaughters loved the little ducky that was on the tub.
It was very quiet there. It seemed like the rooms were booked so you didn't have neighbors which was a nice touch.
I wasn't that impressed with the breakfast. They did have a waffle maker to make your own waffles but it was pretty crowded around there especially with the table & chairs right in front of the counter top where all the food was and the coffee kept running out. The eggs were hardboiled and there was bread to make toast but you had to wait your turn. I wouldn't take points away though because we weren't really there for breakfast and what they offered was a nice touch. We would stay again.

Room Tip: look on the internet to pick your room. Our window looked out to the parking lot and I would have pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    140
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
79
198
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peace River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in September. The rooms are wonderful. Continental breakfast was so good, and a great way to start a day of sight seeing.Just on the edge of old town and some of the best restaraunts ever. The owners are so nice and met some of the most interesting people at breakfast. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A basic hotel but probably one of the best in town. Great river views from some of the rooms. Good prices. No eating establishment. Breakfast provided however. Free wireless. Near the shops of the old town of Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This was an awesome place to stay. The office was beautiful with Christmas decorations and a warm cozy fire. The owner was cheerful and happy. He even called our room to see if everything was well and informed us of the great restaurants within walking distance. Our view looked out over the bay and you could see the cool looking bridge crossing the Siuslaw which was very pretty at night. The room was nicely decorated and roomy. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I were driving down the coast of Oregon when it came time to find accomodations for the night. I saw the River House in a travel brochure and gave a call: Susan, the owner answered. She was very helpful, giving price for the stay and directions. The Inn is nestled at the edge of Old Town Florence, on the river banks. Our room had a great view of the river and bridge. It was quiet and exceptionally clean - I mean GLEAMING. The outside access to the rooms and "old fashioned" metal keys added to the charm. Susan has thourough knowledge of Florence's many excellant restaurants. She gave us 3 recommendations on that evening, allowing us to make our decision, not just directing us to a partner's establishment. After a wonderful meal we had a great night's sleep on an exceptional bed - after a week of uncomfortable hotel beds, finally a good night's sleep! All of this in two cloudy, damp, rainy days & nights - like a ray of sunshine! A good value and nice people.

Room Tip: Head to "Old Town Florence"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A 'no-nonsense' facility with very good continental breakfast and clean rooms. A nice departure from the in-town casino. Close to the river if you want a view and walk-accessable to old town Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed in the spa room with a riverfront view ... what a treat! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view of the River and the Bridge were beautiful -- it was very peaceful. Bed was very comfortable and had waffles in the lovely little breakfast area. Great location close to walking distance of shops and restaurants in Old Town of Florence. Will definitely be back and stay at the River House Inn!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 1202 Bay Street, Florence, OR 97439
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Old Town Location. Very nice, newly remodeled inn. Continental breakfast, meeting room, guest laundry, free wi-fi, microwave/refrigerator, green environmental measures throughout. On the Oregon Coast. One hour west of Eugene, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Hotel Florence
River Hotel Florence
River Motel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.