We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not enjoy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiban Restaurant

Ichiban Restaurant
2515 Highway 101, Florence, OR 97439
(541) 997-8868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 72 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Springfield, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did not enjoy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We did not enjoy this place. Egg flower soup was cold, not even warm. We had general tso chicken, it was the same as the nasty frozen stuff from the store. Chicken chow mein was extra slimy, lacking chicken and cold. Mongolian beef was cold and flavorless. Chicken fried rice was lacking chicken and cold. They do not have gyoza sauce you only get plum sauce. I have had better at a Chinese buffet! Took it home and my teenage boys would not even touch it. The take home containers were perfect for feeding the food to my dogs. On the plus side, the owner has contacted me and reimbursed us the cost of that meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichiban_Restaurant, Owner at Ichiban Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I am sorry about the bad experience on your diner. I was not here at that day. It must something screw up inside the kitchen employee. I will pay more attention to the kitchen and supervisor the cooker keep up the good quality food. I think this is an unusually accident on your meal. In this case, even I had refunded the total price on your dinner. I still would like to buy you guys a free dinner next time when you stop by to Florence. We have lots of customer likes our food, we try to do the best quality food to all of my customers, so I have confidence next experience will be better. Stop by and try it again. Thank you very much! I hope I would see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good Asian Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Since it was poring rain, we did not want to go very far to find a place to have dinner. Right next to the hotel was this Asian Restaurant. The food was outstanding. Better than most highly advertised Places. Not much of an atmosphere, but the quality of the food, the presentation, the service and the price, made up for it a hundred times.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Skimpy amount of protein in breaded dishes, chow mein and rice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did order take-out, which because of it's very nature, is less attractive and tasty to eat, but none the less, I have issue with the lack of chicken I received. I did get some overly battered pieces, with little or no meat. The rice and chow meins had the same problem. I would prefer for them to charge more than to be skimpy. I've worked in a Chinese restaurant and know the flavors so I can only comment on the Cantonese food they make, and not the Japanese, which might be excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Number 1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Remodeled convenience store had some really good sushi and some hot dishes, all for a very good value; good service too; maybe its cause my nickname is ichi I try to hit any Ichibans I see, most are not number 1, but this place is worthy of the name; if they'd clean up the front a little maybe more folks would find out how good the food is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It was alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It was an ok place. Food was ok and had good variety of sushi and Chinese dishes. Price wasn't too bad for a family of 4. The waitress was friendly but did forget one item on the order which she promptly rectified.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Restaurant also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Ichiban Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiban Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.