We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner and owner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Cantina

Kelly's Cantina
1340 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439-9649
541-997-8005
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 73 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A relaxing atmosphere on the Siuslaw River. Comfortable, non traditional patio furniture that encourages you to sit back and relax as if you are truly on vacation. Even the locals feel as if they have had a break from everyday life!
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner and owner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a very enjoyable dinner there...our service was very good and we had a nice view of the river through the window. The owner (Mermaid Kelly) was there and came by to say hi and check on our food...she offered us a free desert as it was a special occasion... it was fabulous chocolate bread pudding...we loved the sautéed green beans, chili with chipotle mashed potatoes and the fish tacos...all very affordable and tasty!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    30
    9
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food on a Fast Food Budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a gem in Old Town, Florence!!!! My wife and I were tempted to lunch here based on our reading of the menu posted in the window. William cheerfully escorted us to our table and Amy took over as our waitress. Amy was delightful, pleasant and so cute! What a wonderful personality! We ordered AWESOME clam chowder and a crostini appetizer that kicked butt! The crabcake sandwich was to die for and the red snapper tacos were absolutely delicious! Gourmetn food and SO easy on the wallet! We'll be back with friends for sure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Average Food, SLOW service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Located in Old Town on the riverfront, there is only one small table outside for two people overlooking the river, which is nice if you can get that table. The rest is limited indoor seating on patio furniture. Odd decor and atmosphere. Dining area does not appear very clean, but table tops cleaned well. Slow service!! Food was so-so. We liked the red pepper chipotle soup. Suggestion to Owner: Quicker Service and clean up restaurant. Desperately needs a remodel in front half of establishment. Restaurant appears to have fresh ingredients and potential.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, OR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went here for dinner. Restaurant chairs were basically outdoor patio furniture - not very comfortable. Ordered crab cakes and crab mac and cheese. Salads were fresh. Crab cakes very tasty. Crab mac and cheese was cold and needed to be sent back. The place was not full, so I think it was just inattentive service. Waited over 30 minutes to get served.
Lovely view and interesting menu. Will try again and see if it is any better next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUYALLUP, WASHINGTON
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Eat Great Views Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had Lobster Rolls.. they were ok...alot of Onion...more than Lobster... Small Portions..Seafood soup was Great... The Staff were very Friendly efficient..
I really like the place it had a good energy about it... The only complaint is the portions of food are small...we went by Taco Bell an hour later....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Cantina also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Kelly's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.