We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrill from beginning to end!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandland Adventures

Sandland Adventures
85366 Hwy 101 So, Florence, OR 97439
+1 541-997-8087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Activities in Florence
Type: Game/ Entertainment Centers, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the Oregon Dunes and Family Fun Park at Sandland Adventures. Offering tours of the dunes since 1987, our professional drivers will show you a great time while you travel across an impressive natural wonder of endless shifting sand. You will also experience unique tree islands, various wildlife and the spectacular Siuslaw River.  Choose an exhilarating dune ride on our Sand Rails or a relaxing tour on our Giant Dune Buggies.  Our one hour tours also include traveling down our Pacific Ocean Beach.  Large or small groups can be accommodated on either tour. For those who prefer speed and excitement, try either a half hour 10 mile tour or an hour 20 mile tour. These 7 to 10 passenger Long Travel Sand Rails have over 20” of suspension travel and plenty of horsepower to take you on an exhilarating ride. If you prefer a slower pace, enjoy our interpretive Giant Dune Buggy Tour with many picture opportunities. Informative, scenic and fun describes this one hour dune buggy tour covering approximately 8 miles of dunes and 2 miles of ocean beach. Climbing and descending through the most beautiful, impressive dunes will be an unforgettable experience.After your dune ride, you can bump and splash on our Bumper Boats, race on our Grand Prix style Go-Kart Track, play a round of Miniature Golf or take a ride on the Cloverline Railroad. We are located less than one mile south of Florence on Hwy 101.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
richland, wa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Thrill from beginning to end!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A couple from Wisonsin at the bed and breakfast we stayed at recommended this and we were so glad. Our driver Dan gave us a ride for our money. We took the 30 minute thrill ride and it was from beginning to end. So glad we were so securely strapped in. The views were amazing! At the end the driver even gladly took our picture.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    41
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sandland Adventures "Wild and Exciting" dune buggy ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had the most fun ever on a ride of any sort. The dune buggy ride in the Dunes was a blast. Buddy, our driver is a true professional driver, and a real showman. He's funny, very experienced, and very interesting on all aspects of the Oregon Dunes, then we go like hell! My wife was co-piloting in the front seat next to our driver, and could have easily caught a mouth full of sand from all the screaming. Hints for next time: wear a touque (a Canadian ski cap) down over your ears, and keep your mouth shut! You complexion will be smooth from the sand blast. We took the half hour ride, and now wish it was a full hour. Well worth every dime. Buddy also got a good fair tip from us. Yes it was that good. Do it!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A wild joyride, but not for the motion sickness people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I had a great time, even though I am prone to motion sickness. Don't go if you can't ride a roller coaster! We were impressed with the ups and downs, and the great views of the dunes. Sandland is the number one attraction in the area. you really get your money's worth. Matt was great, and skilled. We did the six passenger ride, it was great. Perhaps some Dramamine would have helped!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exhilarating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our driver was Matt and he did not dissapoint us!! They strap you in, and off you go !! Holy Mackrel!! I had never been on a sandrail, my husband has. What a ride! It is a rollercoaster on sand! The dunes are beautiful and we rode along the ocean as well. Matt stopped for pictures before he tore down the next dune, scaring and exciting us all! Everyone in our buggy had a great time, we had 6 all together and went on the fast and scenic ride. What a blast!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Whammy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a place to rent dune buggies we could drive ourselves. Sand land didn't offer this, but with the good reviews I reluctantly agreed to go in the (up to) 10 person dune buggy driven by our guide Buddy. What a good choice! We only did the half hour tour ($28) and that was fine although next time I would pick an hour. I think with the guides knowledge of the terrain and understanding of the dune buggies limitations you are able to experience a much more exilerating ride. This is NOT for the faint of heart, and don't go if you are afraid of getting a little sandy. I highly recommend this!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandland Adventures also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sandland Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandland Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.