We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's sinking!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85625 Highway 101, P.O. Box 2097, Florence, OR 97439   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's sinking!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

The hotel is falling into the water.... the floors have a SERIOUS slant to the floor, and the staff who is aware of this say it's good for another 8-10 yrs according to the surveyors... or until the next heavy rainfall in my opinion.

We stayed in a room on the main floor, and we walked through two more rooms hoping for a more level one to no avail. It's very uncomfortable to be on a slant, you tend to get a bit of vertigo just like in the fun house as a kid.

The views are great, the room is clean and decent value, the staff is awesome. Helpful and honest. If you can handle an uneven floor this may be for you... I just wouldn't take the chance during the rainy season.

  • Liked — Scenic location, great staff
  • Disliked — It's sinking into the water.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    197
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
207
277
16
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, England, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

What an ugly h/motel. The exterior appearance was quite worrying when we first pulled up. It can only be described as a battleship grey colour. However, our room was very spacious, quite stylish and comfortable.

We only had one issue with the hotel and that was the noise. Everytime someone flushed the toilet or ran water (this was everytime anyone above, below or on our level) we could hear it in our room, even with the bathroom door shut - what a noisy nightmare. Avoid room 233 at all costs.

Breakfasts were nice and not as basic as you get in other similar h/motels. Watch out for the use by dates on the yoghurts. The view from the breakfast room was great - we watched a sea lion going about his daily business on the second day we were there.

We would try somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — Location - on the riverfront
  • Disliked — Far too noisy
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

We reserved a room with a beautiful view of the river and downtown Florence. The hotel room was a bit musty but I sprayed a little air freshener and all was well. It was nicely updated though no old polyester bed covers. It was a large room, large bed, and large bathroom. The bathtub was big and not fiberglass. Very nice. We were very happy with our room. The only draw backs were our bed was too soft and the dining room was full when we went for breakfast but that was fine we found a very nice restaurant south of town called Morgans for breakfast. Very clean and great food.
We should also mention that the staff was very nice.
This Best Western also has a nook near the front desk with a computer and printer for guests to use. We will stay here again.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — That you could hear clearly the noise in the hall
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

This hotel is a great choice for the central Oregon coast. It’s nicer than most beach motels, more affordable than the high-end resorts, and clean and modern with incredible views. Here are some specifics:

LOCATION: The entrance driveway is tight and we missed it the first time. Probably this has to do with the hotel being nestled on the hillside. The hotel is on the far side of the bridge from the town of Florence, with a view of the town and the bay. You could walk into town but it’s a ways. The parking in Florence seems adequate so I would drive in to enjoy the nice off-highway village of boutiques and restaurants.

HOTEL: This hotel has one of the funkiest layouts I’ve ever seen. To get to our room we had to go down, right, left, right, left, then up. I actually got lost in the maze my first time back but it amused me.

ROOM: We got one of the last two rooms available so we had no view, but we still liked it. It was huge, clean, modern and quiet. Our only complaint was the uncomfortable pull-out couch bed; the springs poked me so much I hardly slept. I don’t think the hotel has roll-a-ways, maybe because of all the funny little stairs everywhere, but they should still get some.

BREAKFAST: Great view, standard breakfast bar foods with some hot extras (waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage). Well-stocked and maintained. Hours ran from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. We would have liked a later closing time, say 10:00 am.

POOL: Indoor pool with view, two hot tubs, sauna, plenty of towels, etc.-- higher quality than you might imagine, almost like a sports club. We were sad not all of us brought our swim suits.

FRONT DESK: Helpful, accommodating, pleasant. Lobby has free cookies (not bad!) and hot beverages ‘round the clock. You can also check your e-mail and play on the Internet on the free computer just off the lobby.

In summary, I’d absolutely go there again, but would make sure we got enough actual beds. I’d take to the floor in a sleeping bag before suffering another night on that couch.

  • Liked — The view, the indoor pool, and the friendly front desk staff.
  • Disliked — The pull-out couch bed and the early breakfast closing time.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn

Address: 85625 Highway 101, P.O. Box 2097, Florence, OR 97439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn!Duck into the Sea Lion Caves and see these impressive animals up close; it is just a few minutes away from our Florence hotel.Many of our Florence hotel guests are in the region for the Oregon Sand Dunes and spend the days on ATVs or four-wheeling in their own vehicles. Our Oregon Coast hotel provides guests with everything they need for an exciting or relaxing getaway, like luxury bedding and an unbeatable location along the coast. With a river view of Siuslaw River, we are the perfect choice for couples looking for a little romance or outdoor lovers who want to be as close to the action as possible. We are a full service hotel. Our onsite restaurant The Bay View servers dinner nightly from 5-10PM and includes a full bar.Our Florence, Oregon hotel is right across the bridge from Old Town Florence, a must-see for history buffs. It is filled with fine dining, shopping and antiquing. However, it is our location next to the Sand Dunes that really draws people to our Florence hotel. We are close to the beach, and the Oregon Coast is stunning year-round. Oregon Coast sightseeing and whale watching is something everyone should do at least once, and we are conveniently located near the tour sites.Coho salmon fishing at the nearby river draws fishermen and women to our Florence hotel, too. The Rhododendron Festival and Fourth of July fireworks on the river are beloved annual events that locals and travelers alike look forward to. Even if you are here for business with Peace Health or Oregon Parks and Recreation, it is simple to make a little time for leisure activities.Our Florence hotel is the best place to watch the Rods-N-Roadies Car Show, and our friendly hotel staff is dedicated to making sure your stay is the best it can be. We are happy to provide tips and recommendations on must-see sights and on things to do. If we can do anything to make your stay even better, just ask and we'll go the extra mile to deliver. Reserve your river view room at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pier Point Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.