We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and smelly!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85625 Highway 101, P.O. Box 2097, Florence, OR 97439   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Florence
eugene oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful and smelly!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

the room was beautiful, the breakfast was good the staff was nice, the price was right. But, it smelled so bad! I had trouble sleeping because our room had a strong smell o dirty laundry. the shower was also full of hair that was not ours! Yuck! The best was very comffy also, just with smelly lines. Too bad not sure if we would ever stay again. Would reccomend just becasue there are so few hotels in florence and maybe we just got a bad room!

  • Liked — modern
  • Disliked — very dirty, bad smell
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesiFlorence_Oregon, manager at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2009
Dear dezzie0807:

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Pier Point Inn. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine service and consideration we strive for with all our guests - the type of service we pride ourselves in. I have investigated your comments and will take steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. My staff will also be made aware of your comments and we will all take immediate corrective action.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Pier Point Inn the next time you are in Florence Oregon. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one as we illustrate that what happened to you was an unfortunate exception to our normally high quality of service.

Sincerely,
Aliitasi Tupua
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    163
    48
    21
    17
See reviews for
156
215
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

My wifes birthday is December 23rd and therefore I always try and do something a little special. We had just returned from Africa 2 weeks earlier so a "Big" trip somewhere was out of the question. A friend suggested we travel up the Oregon Coast and stay the night in Florence. We had never done that and decided it would be a nice mellow evening. Our usual accommodation's range from upscale boutique style hotels to sleeping on a mud hut somewhere in the Jungle so we are quite open... however we usually try and avoid the "Big Chain" type hotels due to the usual drab stylings and generic feel.
We were quite surprised and genuinely THRILLED when we entered our room at the Pier Point Best Western. The furnishings looked new, they leather sofas and chairs, flat screen HD TV, it appeared there had been a recent remodel and so everything was up to date. The room was HUGE with an amazing view of the river looking across to Old Town Florence. It was not what we expected from a chain hotel. Also... the (heated) pool area was very well set up with a Cabana type feel complete with Umbrellas and chairs, very inviting, in fact we considered not leaving the hotel that night for dinner. In fact, we did just walk across the bridge into Old Town (nice location considering we enjoy drinking wine) and had a fabulous dinner (cant remember the name) in a small Italian restaurant complete with a duo signing Bohemian French songs with the entire restaurant joining in.
All in all, I remember the look on my wifes face was full of Joy as we celebrated her 41st Birthday.
Will absolutely come back again...and maybe bring some friends as this is a comfortable and great location.

  • Liked — Room quality, location and pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesiFlorence_Oregon, manager at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2009
Dear Makaiohana:

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary letter regarding your experiences.

I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Pier Point Inn the next time you are in Florence Oregon. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Aliitasi Tupua
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

This hotel is on the south end of Florence , with a beautiful view of the river and bridge.
The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, and the decor is very pleasant.
From the moment we booked our room on the phone we experienced helpful and friendly staff.
This hotel is a must if you like value for money.

  • Liked — everything was very nice
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesiFlorence_Oregon, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2009
01/06/09

Fremo
Washington State.

Dear Fremo:

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary letter regarding your experiences.

I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Pier Point Inn the next time you are in Florence Oregon. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Aliitasi Tupua
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

The staff was very friendly, personable and helpful. The rooms are clean and large with beautiful views of the Siuslaw River and at night, the lights of Florence. There was bottled water and mints left as a courtesy and every convenience like hairdryers, refrigerator, microwave and personal grooming samples with plenty of towels and washcloths and a safe to lock up valuables. The rooms are well organized and the beds are very comfortable, good mattresses, I slept very well there and appreciated the ambiance. The heated pool was warm enough to swim in and the sauna was very hot and the two Jacuzzis were so relaxing and they provided plenty of towels there also plus a place to shower afterwards. The breakfast they provided for free was a self-serve buffet that had from the lightest waffles you could imagine to Denver omelets, fresh fruit, cereals, just about anything you could ask for with plenty of juice and coffee or hot chocolate which made for a very substantial breakfast. I enjoyed my stay there and have gone back with my family to enjoy it again as it's very comfortable. I highly recommend this motel, it's very high class in service and charm and it felt like a very safe place to stay. It looks like it is being newly painted and upgraded since I've read the other reviews from several years ago. Good thing I stayed there before I read the reviews as my experience there was very positive and enjoyable. It's a very peaceful place to be and the people that work there were lovely.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesiFlorence_Oregon, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2009
01/06/09

Lonnimunson
Gold Beach, Oregon

Dear Lonnimunson:

Dear Fremo:

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary letter regarding your experiences.

I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Pier Point Inn the next time you are in Florence Oregon. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Aliitasi Tupua
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We visited in late Septemeber and the hotel was in need of some work. Our 1st room had a slanted floor so the 2nd room was at least level. Throughout the night the plumbing from the room above made the pipes vibrate every time someone ran water or flushed the toilet. It sounded as though we had our own personal water fall in our room.

The linens were worn and in need of replacement. The carpets felt like soap residue. This hotel really needs some rennovation. Be careful of which room you get, the road noise can be a problem.

  • Liked — view of the river
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesiFlorence_Oregon, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2009
01/06/09

Dear 3522:

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Pier Point Inn. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvience you experienced.

I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine service and consideration we strive for with all our guests - the type of service we pride ourselves in. I have investrigated your comments and will take steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. My staff will also be made aware of your comments and we will all take immediate corrective action.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Pier Point Inn the next time you are in Florence Oregon. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one as we illustrate that what happened to you was an unfortunate exception to our normally high quality of service.

Sincerely,
Aliitasi Tupua
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Reserved a pet-friendly room 5 weeks in advance; arrived to find our $250/night deluxe King had been rented to another party as we were told "you did not reserve a pet-friendly room" WRONG. We were given a HORRIBLE double room with strong urine odor, no hot water, and no phone (for $230/night no less). Complained and was given a Queen room without a screen door on the sliding doors, and no working lights on one side of the room. The second day our key card quit working and we had to ask the front desk to reactivate it for our last day. At least this room smelled better. There was mold around both shower ceilings and the overall quality of these rooms are not worth the price which is higher than most nicer and newer hotels in this area. What a disappointing Anniversary gift - we really thought $250/night was getting us a resort-quality hotel. PS - the full breakfast with the room fee is not worth bothering - rubber eggs and watered down apple juice-ugh.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesiFlorence_Oregon, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2008
September 22, 2008

Dear Doogren:

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that we have caused you and family during your stay with us. I would like to ask for your forgiveness and understanding as we are going through a transitional period to make our hotel ideal for our guests every need. I truly appreciate all your feedback, which without a doubt, is very helpful for our ongoing improvement.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 541.997.7191.

Aliitasi Tupua
Front Office Manager
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

The hotel is in a great location overlooking the river. Having a balcony was great. The room was very nice, comfy and clean with nice amenities. My only complaint is that the room was not made up by the time we returned in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesiFlorence_Oregon, manager at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2008
Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 541.997.7191.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Aliitasi Tupua
Front Office Manager
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn

Address: 85625 Highway 101, P.O. Box 2097, Florence, OR 97439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn!Duck into the Sea Lion Caves and see these impressive animals up close; it is just a few minutes away from our Florence hotel.Many of our Florence hotel guests are in the region for the Oregon Sand Dunes and spend the days on ATVs or four-wheeling in their own vehicles. Our Oregon Coast hotel provides guests with everything they need for an exciting or relaxing getaway, like luxury bedding and an unbeatable location along the coast. With a river view of Siuslaw River, we are the perfect choice for couples looking for a little romance or outdoor lovers who want to be as close to the action as possible. We are a full service hotel. Our onsite restaurant The Bay View servers dinner nightly from 5-10PM and includes a full bar.Our Florence, Oregon hotel is right across the bridge from Old Town Florence, a must-see for history buffs. It is filled with fine dining, shopping and antiquing. However, it is our location next to the Sand Dunes that really draws people to our Florence hotel. We are close to the beach, and the Oregon Coast is stunning year-round. Oregon Coast sightseeing and whale watching is something everyone should do at least once, and we are conveniently located near the tour sites.Coho salmon fishing at the nearby river draws fishermen and women to our Florence hotel, too. The Rhododendron Festival and Fourth of July fireworks on the river are beloved annual events that locals and travelers alike look forward to. Even if you are here for business with Peace Health or Oregon Parks and Recreation, it is simple to make a little time for leisure activities.Our Florence hotel is the best place to watch the Rods-N-Roadies Car Show, and our friendly hotel staff is dedicated to making sure your stay is the best it can be. We are happy to provide tips and recommendations on must-see sights and on things to do. If we can do anything to make your stay even better, just ask and we'll go the extra mile to deliver. Reserve your river view room at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pier Point Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.