We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85625 Highway 101, P.O. Box 2097, Florence, OR 97439   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff, Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed from 8/19-8/23, room 350. A number of staff members made my experience above average. The gal at the front desk whom I spoke with on the phone before arriving on 8/19 and upgraded me to a Water View King was so nice and helpful, I regret that I don't have her name. Upon arrival, Carrie at the front desk checked me in and she is so genuinely kind and happy, not to mention efficient! Each time I saw her throughout my stay she had a big smile and always asked about my day. Megan and Stacey in the restaurant also took excellent care of me. I actually ate there 3 nights. The food was good, and these ladies couldn't have been more accommodating. It was like all the sudden I had new friends. The property itself is like a hotel/motel hybrid--a main building where the front desk, breakfast, restaurant, pool, and some rooms are located. Then, there is a wing of motel-style rooms. This didn't phase me, (I was in the motel wing), but the only thing I would say is that it would be nice if they had bathrobes for the guests since you have to walk outside to get to the pool/hot tubs/sauna in the main building. It was cool that there were two hot tubs. Very pretty view. Room was relatively updated, comfortable, clean, and had a microwave & a mini-fridge that you can actually fit a few things inside, which was great. Aside from the employees I felt compelled to mention specifically, I observed that all of the staff--front desk, breakfast crew, restaurant-- projected an attitude that they'd be happy to help and seemed to work harmoniously together. I'm a happy camper.

Room Tip: If it's important to you to be in the main building, clarify that upon making your reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear DMG2013:

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you mentioning Carrie as well as Megan and Stacey (at the restaurant). If you wouldn't mind leaving a review of the restaurant on TripAdvisor (Bay View at Best Western Pier Point Inn) we would greatly appreciate it as the restaurant is new and trying to gain an online presence. Also, thank you for the tip on the robes. It is an interesting idea that we will consider as we are always looking for new ideas to improve our guests' stay.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    216
    57
    25
    18
See reviews for
232
301
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel does seem pricey at $239 for a king. However, our room was newly refurbished in a very nice way; the location was perfect for our drive down the coast; and the view over the river & town with the ocean in the background was unbeatable. Jacob was great at helping with reservation, finding us a room that worked with my husband's broken ankle. Carrie at check-in is super polite & helpful. Brian & his assistant keep the delicious omelets going at the decent (and crowded) breakfast. BTW, recommend the omelets over the waffles. Also, we recommend the Firehouse pub in town for a beer & chowder. We've stayed at another Florence hotel that is across the river and much prefer this Best Western.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear cdinlo:

Thank you for the 5 star review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Florence. Also, Jacob and Carrie very much appreciate you mentioning them as well.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

While the room was very dark- not much lighting and dark decor, it was comfortable and a good location. off the main road and a restaurant within walking distance. i would stay there again but probably would not be back in the area. I would recommend it to others that are passing through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Darlene K:

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback regarding the lighting. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and while you don't expect to be back in our area, if you are, please do stay with us again.

Thank you,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I guess customer service comes at a hefty price. At the busy peak time of year, a small two-bed room will cost about $230. Yikes! It was virtually the only nice place on the Oregon coast that had any vacancies when I made reservations just a few days before. We decided to book a room because we've stayed at some terrible places on the coast as a result of my last minute reservations and many "no vacancies," and this time we wanted a nice vacation. As other reviewers mentioned, the customer service here was impeccable and rare. Although I booked an over-size room online, due to our need for a pet friendly room and a nearly full hotel, we got moved to a smaller room. We wanted more space for 2 dogs, 2 kids, and 2 adults but nothing was available. So at a minimum we wanted a lower nightly fee because of a smaller room. The man at the desk was awesome and called the manager and worked out some options while we went to dinner. Turned out, they moved us to the cottage (a 3-bedroom house) for just a fraction more money (a much reduced nightly rate for the rental). We had lots of space, they treated us right, and we had no glitches along the way. I would like to commend the staff's fantastic communication because, in he end, we were dealing with 4 different desk clerks and each one knew exactly what was going on and how to figure it out. It's rare to find such smooth operations at a busy hotel like this. I respect this a lot! We had a fantastic weekend and found the hotel to be clean, have extra perks, and be friendly. The free breakfast was more extensive than usual with an omelet bar in which they make eggs customized to order. I only wish there was higher quality or Greek yogurt and additional gluten free options like nuts, trail mix, GF cereal (GF Rice Krispies and Chex are widely available now), and bananas. The cut fruit and grapes were excellent. I'm not an egg eater but the omelet bar was great. The breakfast staff were frequently asking if we needed anything and were happy to bring out additional food. They opened the conference room with tables so we didn't have to worry about finding space in a busy breakfast time like at most hotels. Much calmer and relaxing. The main reasons I didn't give 5 stars were: high price, weak wireless Internet and none at the cottage, very small pool, small rooms like the first one we got. Not sure i would stay here again because of the high price, but if money were not an issue, then surely I would come here again. Since it's pricey anyway, I would make sure to get a suite or at least an oversized room. Views are gorgeous and location is great!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or oversized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Kathy M:

Thank you very much for your thorough review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand the rate was a bit more expensive than others you've stayed at but please understand that this is our peak season (highest rates of the year) and we do have higher expenses that other hotels because we do provide higher levels of customer service and amenities that other hotels may not consider as important. Also, thank you for the tip on additional items at breakfast. We appreciate knowing what our guests want us to have available at breakfast.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a balcony with two chairs to sit and look at the river, bridge, and town across the river. VERY nice. We also had this view from our bed which was obstructed slightly by the refrigerator/microwave. The room is small but the bathroom is large and the beds were only doubles rather than queens. All that was available was a pet friendly room. WE don't have a pet but there was no evidence of pet odor or hair. The room was very clean and comfortable. Good bathtub. Better breakfast than we have had at any BW. Fresh hand prep'd fruit and handmade omelets are a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Lucinda C:

Thank you so much for the awesome review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back and see us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Let's start with arrival...after 6 hours in the car, it was hard to come into check-in at 5 p.m. and see a line. Oh, but then, a "manager" left her desk to help open up another avenue for check-in.
Room with a view, as promised. Comfortable space for the dog-as promised. Deck overlooking the river. Ask for a corner room with overlook-use AAA and AARP if you can-the rate comes down a bit. Great mattresses and pillows-for all types of sleepers.
Breakfast was great! Made to order omelets, good seasonal fruits, and such sunny folks greeting and making these. This BW ranks #1 of the 3 in which we stayed on our road trip from CA. to Portland. Plus, Florence is an interesting place which will draw me back to this lodging and place in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room over-looking the river (that is dog friendly/non-smoking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Nhoffman_13:

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and ranked us #1 out of the three Best Westerns you stayed at during your trip. Also, we are so glad you found our beds very comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast. Florence is a great little town and we are happy that you will come back to visit us again. I hope you had a chance to eat at our restaurant, The Bay View, during your stay. If you didn't, please give it a taste next time as we are hearing from our guests that this is by far the best food and view they experienced during their travels as well.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is located in the south part of town just across the river from the historic downtown area of Florence. The staff there were very friendly and we were promptly greeted upon arrival. The lobby of the hotel had warm cookies and samples of some of the food that was being served in the on site restaurant.

We stayed in a room with a king bed and a hide-a-bed. The room was very clean and appears to have been updated. It had a small refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, safe as well as wireless internet. There was a small desk in the room and a decent sized flat screen TV with a 20+ channels. No entertainment centre/rentals etc available.

The king bed was very comfortable. The hide-a-bed however was not. Very thin mattress and you could feel the cross braces. Ok for a one night stay but not something you want to be on for any longer than that. The hide-a-bed wasn't changed from the last guest when we arrived which was disappointing but they quickly sent someone down to change the sheets etc.

The hotel has a restaurant and a small bar in it and the food was surprisingly good. Every table has a good view of the river. There were about a dozen or so tables. The service was also good. Also in the hotel main floor was a room where they did Karaoke and a breakfast area. The Karaoke went on until about 10:30pm and I could hear it in the room mostly because we were right under the area.

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent. We each had fresh made omelets but there was a good selection of other hot and cold choices. Well worth trying it out.

The historic downtown is a 5 minute walk across a very old and picturesque bridge. Note here that the sidewalk on the bridge is narrow ie you can't walk side by side. If you have kids, pay particular attention.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room, get a river facing room on the first floor in the south wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear evernon:

Thank you so much for your very detailed review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to let other travelers know about your experience staying with us. We hope you will be able to come back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn

Address: 85625 Highway 101, P.O. Box 2097, Florence, OR 97439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn!Duck into the Sea Lion Caves and see these impressive animals up close; it is just a few minutes away from our Florence hotel.Many of our Florence hotel guests are in the region for the Oregon Sand Dunes and spend the days on ATVs or four-wheeling in their own vehicles. Our Oregon Coast hotel provides guests with everything they need for an exciting or relaxing getaway, like luxury bedding and an unbeatable location along the coast. With a river view of Siuslaw River, we are the perfect choice for couples looking for a little romance or outdoor lovers who want to be as close to the action as possible. We are a full service hotel. Our onsite restaurant The Bay View servers dinner nightly from 5-10PM and includes a full bar.Our Florence, Oregon hotel is right across the bridge from Old Town Florence, a must-see for history buffs. It is filled with fine dining, shopping and antiquing. However, it is our location next to the Sand Dunes that really draws people to our Florence hotel. We are close to the beach, and the Oregon Coast is stunning year-round. Oregon Coast sightseeing and whale watching is something everyone should do at least once, and we are conveniently located near the tour sites.Coho salmon fishing at the nearby river draws fishermen and women to our Florence hotel, too. The Rhododendron Festival and Fourth of July fireworks on the river are beloved annual events that locals and travelers alike look forward to. Even if you are here for business with Peace Health or Oregon Parks and Recreation, it is simple to make a little time for leisure activities.Our Florence hotel is the best place to watch the Rods-N-Roadies Car Show, and our friendly hotel staff is dedicated to making sure your stay is the best it can be. We are happy to provide tips and recommendations on must-see sights and on things to do. If we can do anything to make your stay even better, just ask and we'll go the extra mile to deliver. Reserve your river view room at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pier Point Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.