We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A&W Restaurant

A&W Restaurant
17 Highway 101, Florence, OR
541-997-8124
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 73 Restaurants in Florence
Restaurant details
Reedsport
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just like it used to be with drive up service. Eat inside or in your car

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not the best A&W”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Old fashioned A&W car service is still here. We walked in to order our lunch, however, and the place just didn't seem clean so we left.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love A&W Rootbeer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Not all A&Ws are created equal. This one, Sutherlin's and the one off of I-5 at the Corvallis/OSU exit Have good food and great rootbeer.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Come for the old-style drive-in experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

A&W is fast food: hamburgers, hot dogs, fries, and, of course, their root beer floats.

I find the food here no better than any fast food, but the old school drive up style where a runner (no roller skates, darn it!) brings your food out on a tray that clips to your car is just silly good fun.

My kids beg to eat here every time we drive by. We usually do it once or twice a summer since we rarely eat fast food. My kids recommend the corn dogs!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Oregon USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Florence OR visit is complete without a stop at the A&W!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

With no A&W in our local area, we never fail to make the A&W in Florence a must when we go to the coast. Super menu that's hard to choose from, burgers, hot dogs, and so much more ~ plus floats, shakes, fountain stuff. We either eat there (eat = 'pig out') or get ours to go and drive to where we can watch the ocean while we savor our meal.
This modest spot is a local and visitor favorite, always busy but will turn your order around as fast as they can. ALSO for you nostalgia buffs, it is a drive-in.... so lots to enjoy here, don't miss it!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A&W Restaurant also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to A&W Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&W Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.