We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Eugene!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Valley River Inn to your Saves list
The Valley River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“The Best Hotel in Eugene!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My stay at the Valley River Inn was everything I expected it to be. Saleena and Sergio went out of their way to make this stay a positive experience. Mario, at the concierge desk, went the extra mile. Becky and Hans, at the front desk, were helpful and courteous. And Sasha was bar none the best driver we have rode with in ages. Thank you Valley River Inn!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    120
    50
    21
    12
See reviews for
101
96
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was a lovely place to stay. The room was spacious and comfortable and the entire hotel was clean and inviting. We wanted to be sure to compliment Trinidad. She did an excellent job with our room and was always friendly and caring. It was a pleasure to get to know her. Our only complaint was that we did not have a room with a view of the river. Maybe next time.

Room Tip: Request a view of the river. We got a view of the parking lot. Not nearly as pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My extended family comprised of wife, 4 year old, 2 grandmothers and grandfather stopped for a stay at a mystery hotel booked from priceline.com. we did not expect much since the hotel was rated as a 2.5 star hotel. But were we in for a surprise! We didn't arrive until just before midnight due to inexperience with Seattle-Tacoma rush hour traffic. We were immediately greeted by a friendly young concierge who offered assistance with our baggage. He immediately summoned the front desk clerk for us as well. Very sharp young man who obviously had been well trained. Our check in went quickly and smoothly with the front desk lady who was also very sharp and even apologetic in not having 2 rooms close together. Wow someone who has her wits about customer service, even at midnight! Very impressed so far. She even informed us that room service was still available till midnight so we could get a last minute snack. I asked for a water kettle (not available) but instead received an 8 am delivery of a jot water Thermos from room service - free of charge. Impressive!
The hotel is older but with character and it was very clean and well stocked with all the amenities. However, off to bed for our crew of worn out travellers.
Next morning we visited the hotel's restaurant which was located off the lobby overlooking the banks of the river valley. Beautifully situated, peaceful and food was good. To top it off, hotel guests received a 40% discount on their buffet.
Anyways, as you can see I was very surprised at the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the Inn. We would all recommend this hotel to all travellers.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Exceptional service staff. A great value in a very convenient location. We were there for an annual roller derby tournament. Breakfast buffet was plentiful with a good variety of food and beverage selections. Room was large and very clean. Bed was nice and comfy.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in a King Suite overlooking the pool. The pool was still closed for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talant, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted a hotel in Eugene that was close to the airport and the Amtrak station so we have place to stay on both ends of our trips and offered stay and park packages.
We tried the Valley River Inn and have since stayed there four times in the past year. The main reason we continue to stay here is because we are always impressed with the staff. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant employees to the concierge are always courteous, engaging and informative. They have a sincere interest in who we are, why we are there and in making our stay comfortable, pleasant and enjoyable. Both the restaurant and bar are excellent and we always look forward to having a glass of wine and dinner with a wonderful view of the Willamette River. Plus, there is a mall right across the parking lot that offers great shopping. If we want something different to eat, there are several restaurants within walking distance. All in all, this hotel is an excellent value.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies overlooking the Willamette River. Great option for a bit more per nig...
See more room tips
Green Features: There's recycling, gardens with native plants; only negative is the in room coffee is Keurig, but it's good
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here in March for a conference. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was really comfortable, and the room was clean and quiet. The hotel was also within walking distance to a lot of restaurants.

Green Features: There's an opt-out program for reusing your towels (I think you get a perk for doing it, but can't remember), there are cool shower gel/shampoo/conditioner dispensers instead of wasteful bottels, and CFL light bulbs.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Valley River Inn this past weekend for a Rotary International District Conference. I was most impressed with the staff's hospitality and friendliness. Everyone smiled and said "hello" or "good morning" including the maintenance and cleaning personnel. Patrick and Taylor in particular did an excellent job in the concierge lounge. Thank you VRI management/leadership for training your employees to not only provide a service to your customers, but to truly serve them while doing so.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#3 Business Hotel in Eugene
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Valley River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.