We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to UO” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Valley River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Valley River Inn to your Saves list
The Valley River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Business trip to UO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is an OK college hotel. The rooms have undergone some nice renovations but they seem like they are halfway there. The vanities and sinks are brand new but the floor tile is old and dirty. The hallways are very outdated the carpets are stained. The beds were comfortable and had a room that was right along the river, which was beautiful. The staff at the hotel is friendly and very helpful. We were a little disappointed that the restaurant was very outdated looking and not visually appealing and the bar was extremely small. The "fitness room" shouldn't even count. The free wifi is nice. Overall, it's an OK place. Good service and you can get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Anything along the river is nice to wake up to and there's a great running/biking trail right th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    114
    46
    21
    11
See reviews for
90
93
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I already reviewed the restaurant but the entire hotel deserves Kudos! great place to stay, clean, friendly great service and I wonderful view of the river. Overall I was very comfortable and happy with my stay! I will be returning!
Dave A.

Room Tip: go for river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our group had several rooms over a long weekend for a family reunion. The location is fantastic, right on the beautiful Willamette River. Some rooms have great views overlooking the river. We enjoyed walks everyday on the river trail. There is a mall, movie theater and lots of good restaurants in walking distance of the hotel. The main hotel bar and restaurant also overlooks the scenic river.
The hotel is a bit older, but has a nice Pacific Northwest feel to it. The rooms were nice and got the job done. Our bookings included access to the Concierge Room which provided a continental breakfast plus waffles and happy hour in the evening which offered snacks and free drinks. This was an added plus to our stay.
The definite highlight was the service. From reception to housecleaning, everyone was super friendly and eager to help. Our group had lots of needs that were quickly met. The suite room my parents stayed in was very spacious and great to host all of us hanging out together.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
Green Features: I'm guessing the hotel is pretty environmentally-friendly being in Eugene.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After our disappointment at the Inn at the Fifth we decided to stay here on our way out of town. For the same price as a standard room at the Inn we were able to get an executive suite. My God what a difference! The rooms at the Inn seemed to be a little undersized but our suite was enormous. We also had a large balcony with a river view. It's true this hotel is a little older and you can see signs of it in anything that hasn't been renovated such as some of the doorknobs and the patio door but everything else was very modern and nice. The bathroom was HUGE and the shower big enough for four people. The suites also come with concierge access which means free drinks and appetizers from 6 to 8 pm and a free continental breakfast. Due to bad reviews we didn't eat in the restaurant but room service was fast and my club sandwich was the best I've ever had. All in all the good far outweighs any bad and we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get an executive suite. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was in town for a conference and stayed for a night. The food in Sweetwaters and atmosphere is relaxing.
The front desk staff was welcoming and a nice change from the chain hotel's robotic clerks in the area.
I will be back again. Thanks

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was pleasantly surprised at this "other side of town" hotel. Usually opting for a close to the freeway hotel, the Conference I was attending was at the Valley River Inn. Never having stayed on the river in Eugene, the setting is very relaxing and tranquil.
The staff really cares about every detail and goes out of their way to assist you with even the smallest of requests. I watched the front desk person help an older couple and then packed their bag to their room. Having lived in Vegas for a decade, I thought I was staying at the Four Seasons!
Absolutley stress busting and a real gem of the valley.

Room Tip: River view is relaxing.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are in "Green Eugene" and practice what they preach.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Eugene on business. I have used various sites for locating rooms and happened to get the Valley River Inn about a year ago. Now I find myself hoping I get the Valley River Inn. The front desk and common area is very warm and friendly. Sweetwaters is a very nice and comfortable restaurant to be able to come down from your room and enjoy. We really enjoyed the great service that we received from Christian L. in the lounge. He made a fantastic mai tai!

Room Tip: This was our 3rd stay and we really enjoy having the river view on the upper floors. If you want qu...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are on top of it and have information in the rooms to assist guests in bing environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#4 Business Hotel in Eugene
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Valley River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.