We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Valley River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Valley River Inn to your Saves list
The Valley River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Won't stay again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

First of all it was nearly impossible to find a parking spot anywhere near our room. We had to park in the very back and walk all the way to the front, we could not find an elevator so we had to carry all our luggage up two flights of stairs. Not good for my friend with a heart condition! The decor of the room was good, but the bed was so rock hard I didn't sleep well each night we were there. For 100+ a night you'd expect better beds than motel 6. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    108
    43
    18
    11
See reviews for
88
82
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We almost always stay here when we fly in and out of Eugene. Sometimes we come for date night. Room, dinner, breakfast and 2 movie tickets. We love having a little getaway. This time I notice the bathtub is in very poor shape. The porcelain is majorly chipped around the drain and up higher on that end of the tub. The bottom of the tub is worn and looks black. It really needs replaced. We stayed in room # 518. I still would stay here again.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay here. Great location near shopping district, restaurants and movie theater as well as the paved biking/running/walking trail and the Wilamette River behind the hotel.

We stayed for a total of 3 nights while exploring the Eugene area. We booked a Premier room with 2 Queen beds, concierge service and a river view. We enjoyed our room for the most part. It was very spacious, with a nice little patio area on the ground floor. We were right on the corner so it was easy access for letting the dogs out and literally steps away from the trail. The was a desk area, plenty of outlets, K-cup drink dispenser and seating area. The only con would be that, we could hear the people above us walking as well as people outside our doors.

Honestly, we didn't use the concierge service so if I were to stay again, I would pass on it. The concierge service offers access to a drinking/h'ordeuvres/socializing hour as well as continental breakfast, which is generally not offered for guests, I'm assuming because they have a restaurant connected to the hotel. We tried to go to the breakfast on out last day but realized it closes one hour earlier than on weekends.

There is guest laundry facility available for use. Plenty of parking.

All in all, it was a good stay and would recommend it. It's not an incredibly luxurious hotel but we enjoyed it nonetheless.

One complaint would be that I wish the front desk had informed us about the their other amenities. I wasn't made aware of their gym, pool, and jacuzzi, or shuttle service during check-in.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The dining experience was great. The staff is friendly. The hotel room itself was surprisingly updated with plenty of electrical outlets for business use. The only reason I did not give this a 5 rating is because it has a nice fitness center, but I could not find it. No signage. But it does have one and it has high quality Precor fitness equipment in there. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pros-- Very friendly staff; walking distance to some shopping, Starbucks & some dining; nice rooms along the river with small patios; a river-view restaurant.

Cons-- Older construction, pretty well maintained but we could hear the people on both sides and above us. The restaurant staff was easily overwhelmed when it was busy.

Overall a good place to stay if you can get a river-view room. 10 minutes from the center of the U of O.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Okay, so I was here for a convention and didn't really have very high expectations for this place, but was pleasantly surprised. The room was really nice with an incredible view. The restaurant was decent. I will say, be warned, I'm pretty sure their decaf coffee is the kind that is actually half-caf.. so be wary of that. Otherwise, I thought the place was really nice for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a view. The "concierge" service actually looks pretty great, if I ate the sort of...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer a $4.00 hotel store credit for each day you ask for no new towels.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the prairie
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took the room for convenience sakes. They do offer a free early morning shuttle to the airport. This was once the best hotel in town but it is badly in need of basic repairs and updates. paint in the public areas especially the bathrooms and hot tub/pool area. New carpet would be nice. Our room had some badly stained sheer curtains that were simply disgusting to look at. The rooms are drifting towards drab. The room is spacious and there are k-cups for the coffee machine. The hotel is near the river and there are some nice walking trails and a large mall across the street with food selections and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#6 Business Hotel in Eugene
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Valley River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.