We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous spur-of-the-moment stay at the Valley River Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Valley River Inn

Save Saved
You added The Valley River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Valley River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous spur-of-the-moment stay at the Valley River Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend and I were traveling to our 40th high school reunion, and decided to stay in Eugene for the night en route. We called, and got a great room at the VRI. The service was fabulous, the room lovely, and we can't recommend the concierge floor enough. You'll get great extras, and it's worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, and the concierge floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    92
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
77
68
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been to this hotel many times to visit our daughter in Eugene. Before I discovered the somewhat "secret" Concierge room and service, I would have rated it a 31/2 Star hotel. Nice experience and good beds, with a fire place in the lobby sitting area in winter,However, they talk about offering Starbucks coffee and only offer dark French roast in both the restaurant and room. What about all the folks , like myself, who love strong coffee but want the caffeine in light roast and hate the burnt charcoal flavor of dark roast of any brand. So I felt neglected until I was given a free upgrade one visit and discovered The Secret Room (321) with free mixed drinks in the late afternoon with excellent hors d'oeuvers and also a worthy breakfast for those who have Concierge level. Chris, who attends to you in the Concierge Room is perfect for making you feel special. Usually it is a service level offered for only $20 above the room charge per couple, so it is a bargain. If they ever discontinue it, I will need to find a new hotel or B&B, because I have been permanently hooked by how much more I have enjoyed this hotel now.

Room Tip: Best to be near the 321 Concierge Room to easily run back and forth (for your medium roast coffee in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A very nice, somewhat older, place to be. Large rooms, great bed, and a good location. The only problem was the very long line when checking in and no extra staff to help the poor guy at the front desk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stay here when we visit our kids attending the University of Oregon. Beautiful views of the river, lovely rooms, great lobby and overall ambiance, and the staff has always been friendly and very helpful. Even if our kids move on to other cities, we would want to stay here.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception staff was very helpful with special needs.
Restaurant served a very tasty Club sandwich and iced tea. Room Service brought a delicious hamburger and French fries later. Towels of all sort were a little thread bare, otherwise this is a very good place stay in Eugene.

Room Tip: Ask for river-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, General Manager at The Valley River Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us at Valley River Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to share about your experience with us. I am happy to see that you enjoyed yourselves while you were here. I have shared your feedback about the towels with the Director of Housekeeping so that it may be addressed.

We hope to be your hotel of choice when your travels bring you back to Eugene.

Warm Regards,
George Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great location ..loved the bike path and thought the restaurant was excellent..the riverview rooms are suggested . business center was great for running boarding passes for travel. the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: riverview room suggested
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Traveling with my 2 granddaughters, the one requirement for us was a nice pool. The Valley River Inn delivers this in spades. The large outdoor pool is available 10-10 and the water was comfortably warm (although the air temperature was not). My only complaint is that the pool towels are more like tea towel size, but that is not a major issue. The beds were so comfortable and the room size is quite large. There is what appears to be a large bar/restaurant in the main lobby. It would seem that this is a place which can accommodate the business traveler, the event participants (weddings etc.) and family groups with small kids (me). I don't know that I'd want a pool facing view if noise were an issue what with all of the splashing and laughter going on until potentially 10pm. Our room was ground floor facing parking and we couldn't have been happier. Desk staff were quite friendly and it seemed to me that they were a bit overworked as the line at check-in moved a bit slowly with only 1 (very polite) desk staff on duty. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved the convenience of ground floor and the east of having our vehicle right off the room patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
#6 Business Hotel in Eugene
#7 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Valley River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Valley River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.