We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere near the center of town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Valley River Inn

Save Saved
You added The Valley River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Valley River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nowhere near the center of town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This hotel is nowhere near the center of town, the description stating that it is is misleading, at best; it's near a shopping mall. Our reservation got screwed up, and the room we were supposed to get was already taken. They put us in another, comparable room but with one little problem: the water wasn't working. They finally moved us to a suite that actually had running water! Overall it was a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    87
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
71
64
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I spent 6 very happy nights in this lovely hotel. The location/views are superb and the restaurant overlooking the river was an added bonus. My room was very clean, well maintained and comfortable - I loved the balcony overlooking the pool and beautiful hotel grounds. The staff were attentive, nothing was too much trouble and I felt valued as a guest. Breakfast in the Concierge lounge was delicious and plentiful. I really liked the fact that there was a good shopping mall nearby and an excellent bus service to nearby towns and amenities. All in all it was very good value for money and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Trish S (England)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Big rooms, large pool, ping pong table by the pool, newly renovated and reasonably priced, make this a good value. Balconies outside the room offer views to pool. Restaurant overlooks the river...access to the walking, bike trail from the hotel. Directly located across from the mall as well. Keurig's in the room as well!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time in Eugene and was disappointed. Staff was great and we were upgraded to a river view room. Unfortunately, we were upgraded to a smelly room, the room smelled horrible. Mold, smoke this place smells bad. Upgrade the carpet, smell, beds, towels. Do not stay with kids.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved the convenience of the hotel right by the mall and the walking/bike path leading to U of O. I walked to everything I wanted to do. It was awesome! The room and accommodations were average compared to other hotels of this sort. I was disappointed initially when I entered my room and was overwhelmed by a foul odor. The front desk staff quickly remedied this issue and the room I was given was perfectly fine. The restaurant and bar are above average.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Once a year our family gathers in Eugene. We treat ourselves to the concierge wing and enjoy the pampering. Our room was clean and attractive, room service was fast and delicious (especially the pizza), and enjoying a quiet breakfast with fellow travelers in the concierge suite was especially appreciated. Ditto the casual socializing during cocktail hour. Kudos to Chris and Michelle for attending to our food and drink needs and for keeping the conversation going. See you next year.

Room Tip: If the weather is good and you don't like kid noise from the swimming pool area, ask for a room...
See more room tips
Green Features: It would have been nice to have had a brighter light bulb on the nightstand between the beds. It was hard to read at night in the dim light .
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Eugene for our son's graduation. Our room was on the second floor and we had a lovely riverfront view. The room was clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The concierge room was a nice place for our small group to meet and have some refreshments. The hotel staff was attentive and polite. There was a hiccup on our rate and the problem was promptly solved by Rocky.
The location of the hotel is in walking distance to several restaurants and a shopping mall. The hotel restaurant, SweetWaters, has very good food and Lisa was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
#6 Family Hotel in Eugene
#7 Business Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Valley River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Valley River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.