We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lemons into Lemonade!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Valley River Inn to your Saves list
The Valley River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lemons into Lemonade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have had the best experience this evening during my families stay at the valley river inn. What started as a problem Thomas fixed the issue swiftly, courteously, and in an extremely professional and apologetic manner. He is an embassador for your hotel and an excellent representation of what an employee should be like. Becky was also extremely helpful not only making sure we were completely comfortable and gave special attention to our needs. She is obviously enthusiastic about her job and truly enjoys helping others. Thank you for making our trip more enjoyable to a town we already love. I will definitely recommend Valley River Inn and you have gained a repeat customer for life.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    115
    49
    21
    12
See reviews for
95
95
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Royal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here July 3 and 4. Stunning riverside location on the Willamette. Inside and outside restaurant seating along the river. Friendly and engaging staff...desserts to die for. Lovely riverside rooms, especially the Kings. Excellent value...would stay her again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Riverside kings are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Loved staying here. Stayed 4 nights. The restaurant was great with plenty of options, very pretty views of the river as well. Staff over all has beaten anywhere else I've stayed, especially the lady who runs the Continental Breakfast suite. Great breakfast options. Very quiet and peaceful rooms, clean, etc.. Plenty of things to see around the hotel and around the city. It is very close to everything you need or want to do/see. Parking can be tricky if it's a full night, but they did not run out, you might just have to walk a little ways, but it's gorgeous so who cares.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We didn't really spend much time at this hotel, we checked in late at night and left first thing in the morning.

Check in was fine except they were at capacity which meant there were very little parking. I hunted around the lot and found a bunch of trucks with trailers that had taken up 4 or 5 spots for themselves when they could have easily parked in better places. I returned to the front desk to ask if I could park in a "yellow curb" area since there wasn't a single empty spot in the entire parking lot. He said I shouldn't because I may get towed so I ended up squeezing in behind a trailer and a big truck. The weird part was the front desk clerk said that they rented spaces to a local car dealer who was abusing the amount of space he used. great, thanks for that.....

The room was fine, fairly clean with a nice view of the pool. The small store in the lobby sold beer which was a plus as well :)

We went for breakfast to the "included" continental breakfast which luckily was very close to our room. I didn't have anything, but there were waffles, crossoints and apparently fruit but those platters were empty. I did have some coffee but there was confusion to weather it was decaf or not and when I asked for a lid I was met with more confusion. Everyone else in my party enjoyed the breakfast and we were on our way.

Overall I got the feeling this hotel was a quick stop point for travelers and not a destination and that's what I would recommend it for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here Sunday night of July 4th weekend, was given a top floor, river room. Very peaceful, with a balcony. Great walking/biking path outside. Heard the restaurant was good, but never made it there. Good business lounge, nice pool/jacuzzi,(though we didn't use). Easy to find off the highway in a big Macy's Mall (though had a drive a bit to find a food store).

Big screen TV in room, nice bathroom items, but no fridge, microwave, etc., only coffee maker.

It's not the fanciest, but I give it this rating due to comfort, friendliness, etc. And I got it on Priceline.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here in July for a night. From the valet driver who picked us up at the airport, to the concierge, bartender and all employees--it was a pleasant and welcoming experience. We met Roxanne and Dave at the airport and they said, "Stay at our place, it's wonderful." And so it was. We had a lovely room w/ a river view, a delicious meal riverside at Sweetwater's and enjoyed engaging and welcoming advise and conversation with the charming concierge, Chris. Hat's off to Valley River Inn. Their employees love it there and are so pleasant and happy. I highly recommend this clean, crisp, accommodating gem. Thank you Roxanne and Dave for giving us the best experience possible!

Room Tip: Riverside view is amazing! The hotel was very quiet overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked a river view king room for one night and were pleased with the room. It was clean, spacious and as we were on the ground floor had a door that opened onto a small patio then we could walk right down to the river. It's quite a large hotel and I would recommend paying extra for a river view, otherwise the view might just be the carpark.
Close to the airport too, with some nice restaurants around.

Room Tip: Recommend a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#4 Business Hotel in Eugene
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Valley River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.