We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky little neighborhood cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornucopia

Cornucopia
295 West 17th St, Eugene, OR 97401
541-485-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 532 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Vegetarian, Brew Pub, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Stayton
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Funky little neighborhood cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had lunch here, and it is a very nice cafe with good food and good beer. I had a cheese burger and my wife had a rice bowl and both were very good. They also have a nice patio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    46
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It is all about the plum sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

While visit family living in Eugene, my brother wanted to treat us to one of their favorite places in the neighborhood - and we walked to it! Unheard of where we live! Although service was a bit slow we did not mind the wait. While our food was very good, the sauce served with the calamari is excellent. I poured the left over on my sandwich. They should bottle this stuff! Seriously! Note: Sit out back if possible. Lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBay, CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“GREAT food; SSLLLOOOWW service and/or kitchen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

So frustrating. We'd heard great things about the restaurant, and the fragrance of the burgers, as we walked over from parking, was intoxicating. First visit, so we didn't know whether to seat ourselves, or look for a host or hostess. Everyone working there seemed fully engaged with whatever they were doing. Finally got the go-ahead to pick a table for ourselves.

We ordered a burger and Patty Melt, and two soft drinks. The lemonade was icky. Diluted, watery, not very sweet at all. Kind of like lemony water. The Diet Coke was great.

We waited. And waited. Then waited some more. Twenty minutes after we'd placed our order, our server finally stopped by our table for the first time after bringing our drinks, to tell us that our food was almost up. If it weren't for the fact that we were so hungry, and that it smelled so good in there, we would have departed. Without apology.

Almost one half hour after ordering, we got our food. The meat was perfectly cooked. The Patty Melt, on marbled rye, with grilled onions and melted Swiss cheese was beyond reproach. Just plain old delicious. We paid the $1 extra charge for sweet potato fries in lieu of regular French fries and they were excellent.

We arrived at the restaurant about 2 pm, which we thought would avoid rush hour. Maybe one or more of the cooks had just left, after the lunch rush? I don't know whether we'll go back to give Cornucopia another chance? The food was really good, so maybe...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I'm not sure I'd go here on a first date or if I were trying to impress the boss, but for a good, hearty meal that is easy on the budget this would be hard to beat. We liked it so much our first night in town that we went back for more the next night. That's the best praise I can give an eatery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Another GREAT meal at Cornucopia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Every time we visit Eugene, this is a must visit stop during the trip. The food is fresh, organic, well prepared and delicious. An eclectic beer selection, just adds to the appeal of this spot. It was a beautiful day so we ate out the back patio. One of my favorites in Eugene

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornucopia also viewed

 

Been to Cornucopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornucopia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.