We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ta Ra Rin

Ta Ra Rin
1200 Oak St, Eugene, OR 97401
1 (541) 343-1230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 528 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The food isn't extremely authentic, but the flavors, ingredients, and presentation are all very good. The food is flavorful and nicely seasoned. Most everything is a very good execution of your standard American-Thai food. You won't find more obscure dishes, but you won't be disappointed with standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice variety of tastes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We visited family in Eugene and asked them to pick their favorite restaurant in town. They chose Ta Ra Rin, and we had a very pleasant dinner sharing the tastes of many different plates: Ribs. curry,. Tom Yum soup, fish....The dishes were distinctly flavored and blended well. Decor was pleasant, service was unobtrusive but with a smile. I give Ta Ra Rin a thumbs up and will dine there again when I am in Eugene.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Eugene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

They have a really polite and attentive staff. I recommend ordering the appetizers pot of gold, and the garden salad rolls. I order the chicken pad thai every time we go there it's the best in town it's so delicious. I always order a side of peanut sauce to pour over my pad thai it's the best peanut sauce. I can't wait to eat there again!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Happy Accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Wanted lunch, felt like Thai, in the area, so we thought we'd try Ta Ra Rin for Saturday lunch. Menu posted at entrance before entering and we usually look at those, but figured it's Thai, how could you go wrong? So we didn't check, -- which was good, because if we had, we would have turned away. There isn't any special lunch menu for Saturday, they are all dinner prices. A bit pricey for us at the time. When we sat down, we saw under the Lunch Specials no such thing for Sat. But we didn't want to leave, so, said okay. We ordered the Pad Mango, $14.00. But worth every cent! It was fantstic! Fresh, pretty presentation, a very good portion -- we took some home, couldn't finish it. We both agreed it was the best Thai place in Eugene. The service was very good too, friendly and polite and a nice overall place, seemed clean etc.
So now we'll be back for dinner, and, for lunch during the week, and even on a Sat. if we feel like splurging.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had tom yum soup with shrimp (hot), green papaya salad (medium), and a dish called Swimming Lady. They were all good. The soup had a lot more ingredients than any other tom yum soup I've had; they included cabbage and lots of onions. The green papaya salad - even though we ordered it medium it seemed spicier than the soup; it was good for 2 people and would have also been fine for 3.

I've never seen anything quite like the Swimming Lady. It was a chicken breast pounded thin and marinated, and then grilled. Then it was cut up into strips and served over steamed vegetables (cabbage, broccoli, etc.). The whole thing was then covered with peanut sauce. It wasn't spicy at all, but was very tasty.

The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is the restaurant only had so-so service. Our waitress disappeared on us a couple times.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Ra Rin also viewed

 

Been to Ta Ra Rin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta Ra Rin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.