We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Campbell House, A City Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Campbell House, A City Inn to your Saves list
Campbell House, A City Inn
252 Pearl Street, Eugene, OR 97401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Eugene B&B and Inns
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've been staying at the Campbell House for years (seems like decades) whenever we come for Duck football games, reunions, track events, etc. It's in an ideal location: a 15 minute walk from university activities, 5 minutes from the river walk parks and lots of very good restaurants are close by. The rooms are cozy and very nice. It recently went through an ownership change. The service is still very good and maybe a bit more enthusiastic. We met some of the new owners/family and they are very intent on keeping the experience the best! We highly recommend the Campbell House for your stay in Eugene.

Room Tip: Stay in either the main house or the cottage - equally enjoyable! Try for the larger rooms. The sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieDR1, Director of Sales at Campbell House, A City Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We agree on our location being ideal. We are so close to everything, yet it feels so private and far away when you are up here enjoying our beautiful grounds. Thank you for being a repeat guest, we have gone through a change of ownership as you stated, and everything is going great. We are so happy you will continue to stay at the Campbell House. The new owners, as well as the staff look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    35
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
21
59
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great staff - courteous and helpful. Beautiful and comfortable period furnishings in this old house turned inn. Great garden/yard. so relaxing and quiet. The only negative is that there is a railroad crossing about 1/2 mile away and we heard the horn blow a couple of times each night. The location is walking distance from 5th Street Market with its food court, shopping, and nearby restaurants. I only regret that we didn't know about the Campbell House on previous visits to Eugene. This place is refreshing when you consider that Eugene doesn't have a lot to choose from in hotels. On the other side is a park.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Campbell. The Eva next door was also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieDR1, Director of Sales at Campbell House, A City Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review. We too, love our grounds. It is always so relaxing to sit outside and enjoy the beauty and quiet, even though we are just a few blocks from downtown. Thank you for noticing our friendly staff, we love our guests, I'm glad it shows. As far as the train whistle, this is something that can't be helped, and is common in most hotels. We aplogize for the disturbance, and trust we are very aware of how noisy it can get at times. We are so glad you finally stayed with us, and hope now that you found us, we will be your go to destination in Eugene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I've been staying here everytime when I Eugene for about 5+ years. Have always loved this place and out of all my travelling for work, it is one of my favorites. Their breakfast is literally the best. New owner is also a professional chef and his dishes are superb. Staff is super friendly, grounds are beautiful, rooms are clean and well presented. Since its summertime my 'office' is on a teak chaise lounge under a huge oak tree in front of the English style cottage Campbell House. I recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in Eugene.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieDR1, Director of Sales at Campbell House, A City Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for the great review. It is always nice to hear from returning guests, and we so appreciate your business. The breakfast is something we are proud of. It really is superb! We are glad you get to enjoy our beautiful grounds while you work, not too shabby of an office. We hope you come back and visit us soon, breakfast is waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ordinarily, problems with internet connectivity would lead me to give a hotel the bottom rating, but I am confident that the friendly, caring personnel at Campbell House are going to see that the wifi problem is solved. Campbell House is under new ownership, and my impression was that the new owner is working hard to make sure everything is perfect. Though some people love B&B's, I normally prefer regular hotels. I stayed at Campbell House because of a special event. I can say, however, that I was quite favorably impressed. The friendliness of the staff was not the surface kind -- it seemed to be genuine. They made everything pleasant and upbeat. I was not happy about the bad wifi, but the new owner said that he was going to make sure the problem is solved right away. I believe him. The location was convenient (walking distance to interesting restaurants and shops); the breakfast was good (as dinner probably was also -- I didn't have occasion to try it but noticed that it seemed to attract people who were not staying there, presumably locals who choose to dine there because the food and service are good); the lobby/dining area was comfortable and attractive; the check-in and check-out were friendly and efficient; the price was reasonable. As should be clear, I recommend Campbell House Inn.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieDR1, Director of Sales at Campbell House, A City Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and your nice comments about our staff. They really are genuine, and it is wonderful you felt that. You are right on with the new ownership addressing the wifi problem. It already has been fixed, and we can all WIFI 24/7. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Campbell House is a charming bed and breakfast establishment surrounded by attractive gardens. Our check in experience was efficient and friendly, but our first impressions were somewhat marred by the sight of snacks being sold at the front desk. The room was well equipped but the amenities were so unattractively packaged that I didn't use them. The garden area provides a restful and relaxed location to enjoy the complimentary glass of wine provided each afternoon. The bedside tables had three way light bulbs, so reading in bed was a good way to end the day.
Our experience with breakfast was less than enjoyable. Much of the service is done through a swinging door connecting the kitchen with the dining rooms. The door was squeaking terribly both of the times we ate in the dining room. One of the other guests complained to me about the noise. The breakfast buffet had sliced bread, croissants, bagels and the like for toasting but the toaster was so slow that I finally gave up instead of standing at the machine blocking access to the table. There was an electric wire coming out from underneath the buffet table that was a trip hazard. The selections on the table were often empty. I saw this happen with yogurt, fruit, coffee and the house made scones. The breakfast service needs to be reviewed by management.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieDR1, Director of Sales at Campbell House, A City Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and your honest, informative review. We are glad you noticed our beautiful grounds, it really is the perfect setting to enjoy a glass of wine. To address your concerns, we actually no longer have snacks hanging around at the front desk, this was convenient for some, but an eye sore for others. We are now under new ownership, and have made to order breakfasts that I'm sure you will love. The owner/GM is a chef, and takes great care to make sure everything that comes out of the kitchen is delicious. Along with the new breakfast is also a non-squeaky door, so you can enjoy your gourmet breakfast in peace. Come stay with us again soon, you will be pleased!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Campbell House has beautiful gardens, with a casual, rambling beauty, and flowers appearing in random profusion. The Inn itself, --the rooms, breakfast, and staff service, show great attention to detail. Rooms have individual flavor, and their furnishings are chosen with care for looks and comfort.

The walls are a little thin, and noisy neighbors can be an issue. We found our "cozy" room somewhat cramped, despite its large windows and lovely view. We spent our spare time outdoors in the various seating areas, which were comfortable and lovely, or walking the nearby trails over the butte or along the river. If we have occasion to return, however, we will choose a larger room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieDR1, Director of Sales at Campbell House, A City Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the property. We too, love our grounds, and would sit out there all day if we could. Our staff does pay great attention to detail, we appreciate you noticing that. As far as the cramped room goes, we have done some re-arranging in our "small and cozy rooms". It has added a great new feel to the room, and is just perfect for people wanting a small intimate space. I think a bigger room request from you next time you stay, would make your trip perfect. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place is one of the best I've ever seen. The house is beautiful, we could even visit the rooms to choose the one we wanted. Each room is different but beautiful. The staff is very friendly and we got a glass of wine by checking in. The garden is very enjoyable to relax and have some drinks. The main street is only some minutes away from the hotel, and we got a list of restaurants in the center at the reception.
Disadvantage: all trains during the night, which we heard very well, but earplugs are available in each room. From the 2nd night, we didn't pay much attention to the trains anymore and could sleep better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Campbell House, A City Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay. That is great that you were able to enjoy the gardens, it is a relaxing place to enjoy a glass of wine, for sure. We hope you come back, and see us soon, and maybe next time the conducter won't blow that train whistle so loud. Thanks again for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campbell House, A City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House, A City Inn

Address: 252 Pearl Street, Eugene, OR 97401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored 1892 Queen Anne voted one of the nation's 25 best B&Bs by American Historic Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Campbell House, A City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House, a City Hotel Eugene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campbell House, A City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.