We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ramen outside Japan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toshi's Ramen

Toshi's Ramen
1520 Pearl St, Eugene, OR 97401-4035
541-683-7833
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 546 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best ramen outside Japan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in Oregon. But if you ever traveled to Japan you know that it doesn't take 45 minuets to make ramen. Last week we were in Japan and went to at least 5 ramen places. For fun we timed the wait time. On average we waited 3 to 4 minuets. Tohi'sa great place to eat! If you what authentic Japanese food this is the place. If you want authentic Japanese service you need to go to Japan.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the food but hate all the grease in the air!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Toshi's has great food, but I always leave there with burning eyes, coughing and stinking of grease! Because of this, I really rarely eat there! I just can't handle their lack of ventilation!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“This is Japanese Ramen and it's very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Unlike Chinese Ramen, the Japanese tend to be a bit more creative with the ingredients. Lot's of choices, and what we had was very good. They also have other traditional Japanese dishes like yaki soba and bento.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am in love with Toshi's Ramen. No one knows how to do ramen better then they do! I like how they are a little environment, they are really quick, and have great pople working there. My favorite place to go for ramen.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It's All About the Noodle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Guaranteed - the first time you visit here, you'll stand for at least five minutes reading the overhead menu before ordering - after that, you'll wonder why it took so long to figure it out - it really is all based on the fresh made noodle, which is amazingly good - and there are only 3 broth choices - everything else are add-ons.

If you're a first timer, save yourself the agony and simply order whatever is in the upper left-hand corner of the menu board - and enjoy the hell out of it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toshi's Ramen also viewed

 

Been to Toshi's Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toshi's Ramen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.