We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was close to campus....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 Franklin Blvd, Eugene, OR 97403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Eugene
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“It was close to campus....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We came to drop our son off at UO... we wanted something close to campus and were told this was the best choice. It was okay. The walls are paper thin. Rooms look pretty good but you can tell they won't hold up. Breakfast was okay -- the hostess was very nice and kept the supplies stocked well for the rush.
We might be back, but might want to try someplace else next time... we thought it might be a bit pricey for what it was but assume they could ask whatever they want at this time of year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    91
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
108
64
17
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The room I got was the worst of my trip. It was small and noisy. Every time the people above used their bathroom, you though there was a waterfall in ours. The view was of a pillar about two feet away. The shower didn't work right (low pressure?)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahSmithGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
First, I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. The room you are referring to is a King Standard Room (which is our smallest room type); we do have larger suites available that do not have obstructed views that might be a better fit if you decide to stay at our hotel in the future. We are currently working on insulating those specific rooms better in the bathrooms because of the water sound from the pipes. Thank you for taking time and letting us know how we can improve our future guests’ stay. I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to show you that our hotel truly is best place to stay in Eugene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Spotless rooms. Friendly and exceptionally helpful service. Bedrooms and bathrooms spacious. Excellent suggestions for activities and restaurants. Free pleasant breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Because we were unfamiliar with Eugene and traveling with a large group, we relied on Tripadvisor and were glad we did. The hotel has large rooms, very nice bathrooms, comfortable beds and an excellent, hot free breakfast, great for when you have to leave early the next morning and don’t want to hunt down a café.

There is free parking, free wi-fi, and a free newspaper. Its modern lines and cleanliness are impressive. The walls are a bit thin, but the fan masked the noise from the adjoining room and we didn’t hear anything after midnight so we could turn the fan off. The location is very handy for those traveling the I-5 corridor.

The rooms don’t provide a great view, but the quality and service make up for that. The front desk is staffed with people who are obviously well trained. This Holiday Express sets a good standard for the entire chain.

The restaurant next door looks interesting, but our meal was below average as it was for the others in our group, tasting as though it had been sitting under hot lights for way too long. We all got a 10% off coupon from the hotel, but should have dined elsewhere. However, the beer and wine choices were excellent and the restaurant emphasizes local providers.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Hotel was much better than we were expecting. Staff was great and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was very good too. Easy walk to all Duck sporting events and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahSmithGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Hello Duck Family! Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, it is always a pleasure to hear that we exceeded a guest's expectations with our staff and hotel cleanliness. We hope you can enjoy many more Duck games at our hotel. GO DUCKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and glad we did. Let me preface my remarks by saying that I believe in having realistic expectations when you travel given the area you're traveling to; cost of the room; the Hotel chain itself; etc. I wasn't expecting the Ritz Carlton for $109/night. So I try to be fair and balanced in my comments. Having said that, will try and make this brief: . . . .

We were in Eugene to do a campus visit at U of Oregon with our daughter. The hotel is extremely close to both the '5 freeway (60 seconds from the onramp) and the campus itself which is no more than a 2 minute drive. It's also 60 seconds from a very good market and a huge drug store that sits right next door. Plenty of food options nearby and you're no more than 10 minutes from major retail chains all around the campus and the Eugene area. So everything is very conveniently located.

We reserved a room with 2 queen beds for $109/night. That included a hot breakfast.

Pros:
-Hotel was built within last 3 years; interior is very nicely appointed; carpet was in excellent condition; windows had nice drapes/blinds; everything looked tip/top
-Staff was very friendly and attentive and there were a number of different employees on the desk during our stay; they were all very polite and responsive.
-Our room was very nice; modern furnishings; bathroom/vanity area inparticular was very large (big enough for wife/daughter to get ready side by side). Didn't feel small/cramped; just about the right size for 3 of us
-Breakfast was good. Eggs; sausage; biscuits; gravy; cereals; bagels; juices; etc. Not a 5 star meal but certainly acceptable for our needs and the breakfast area was very nice. Large enough so that folks weren't sitting side/side. Big flat screen TV for folks to watch the news while eating. Just right.
-Computer room off to the side of the breakfast room that I used extensively; connection speed was very good (note: and good from our room as well)

Cons/Things to be aware of:
-Shower pressure in the room was OK; not fantastic. But not a deal breaker by any means.
-Queen size beds felt "short" to us by perhaps that's because we are used to sleeping in a CA king size bed and I'm 6'2" so my feet were pressed right up against the end of the bed. Again, not a deal breaker by any means but something to be aware of.
-The work table in the room was a smaller/round table. Not very conducive to laying out mounds of paperwork if you're trying to work from your room. However, there was a sofa table in the room that you could pull over and use for that purpose if need be.
-The indoor pool is definitely intended for "kid use" primarily; i.e., you won't be doing lap swimming if that's a part of your normal workout routine; would only take 4-5 strokes or so to get completely across the pool. Note: there's a bit of a chlorine smell in the lobby area as the pool is located fairly closely to where you check in. But not a major problem IMO.
-Exercise room is very small and basic; only a few machines; obviously not intended for a serious workout routine if you're used to 24 Hr Fitness as an example.

In summary, the pros far outweigh the cons and we would have no problem staying at this hotel again. Met our primary needs at a reasonable price. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The room was larger than expected, clean, and well appointed. The hotel overall is a very nice hotel and I'll stay here each time I'm in town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene

Address: 2117 Franklin Blvd, Eugene, OR 97403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eugene
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
#2 Business Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Eugene s leading Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites! We are just steps away from the University of Oregon, Autzen Stadium, and the historic Hayward Field. Stay with us and cheer on your Ducks for any sporting event! Families enjoy our Spacious Suites and Complimentary Hot Breakfast while business travelers take advantage of local business only a few short blocks away and complimentary wireless and hard lined internet options through out the entire hotel. Everyone can appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff that can get you where you need to go or help you relax. You have endless shopping and dinning options as we are in the heart of Eugene, with the brand new Boulevard Grill next door and many other down town dinning options to choose from. Eugene is known as the World s Greatest City of Arts & Outdoors and when you stay with us you have access to the best with Alton Baker Park s renowned running and biking paths located just behind the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Eugene is proud to be Oregon s School Activity Association s headquarter hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Eugene
Holiday Inn Express Eugene
Holiday Inn Eugene
Eugene Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.