We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine Eugene

Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine Eugene
941 Pearl St, Eugene, OR 97401-2741
+1 541-284-2944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 528 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 9th
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great food and good atmosphere. Located downtown, so a bit hard to find parking but worth it. You can spice your food "up or down" according to your taste. Lots of choices to please everyone in your party.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    54
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“STILL the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We returned to Sweet Basil for Valentines day dinner, and were NOT disappointed. It's been a couple of years since we've been there, but the food is still some of the best Thai we've had outside of Bangkok. They have an extensive dinner menu, with just about anything you'd care to have, and you can choose your spice level from Very Mild to Very Hot! Since my wife doesn't like spicy, and I do, we do just fine. The service is good but often slow because they were VERY busy. Go there!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and generous portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visited on a very snowy night and were warmed by the delicious spicy food ( green curry and house curry) and the lovely atmosphere. The portions were huge and we could easily have managed with one dish between us, however we now have lunch for tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thai food at it's best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Located in downtown Eugene, Thai Basil is an excellent restaurant to enjoy Thai food. You have a good variety to choose from and I have never had a bad meal there. Service is A+. Parking can be a problem, although, there is a paid lot directly across the street. Enjoy, I do.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best peanut sauce ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been to Sweet Basil 4 times now over the last month, and we have been very pleased every time. Great food, and the people are wonderful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine Eugene also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine Eugene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.