We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian with friendly owner and wait staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria

Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria
1646 East 19th Street, Eugene, OR 97403
541-683-6661
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 481 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Reservations
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian with friendly owner and wait staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

One of the highlights of our trip to track nationals in Eugene was eating here after the meet! Ate there 3 straight nights. Food was outstanding - owner was wonderful as well as waitress Rebecca.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    72
    30
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Delicious food - and Beppe himself selected our wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

In the U of O neighborhood in an old house-turned quaint restaurant, Beppe & Gianni's is authentic, fresh Italian food with friendly service in a unique setting. One of my co-workers said, "Beppe's here, let's ask him to recommend a wine for us!" so we asked for him. He comes over, pulls up a chair and has a chat with us, recommending a Montepulciano in a large format (to save $ for our large group). His energy and enthusiasm was contagious (of course, he's Sicilian, so I'm biased :) and the wine and food were terrific. I've had the ravioli of the day twice - always a well-balanced, seasonal treat.

I've been here for two team dinners (10+ people) and the service and timing have been great - go, mangia!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very cute house made into a restaurant. It certainly isn't the cheapest place to eat, but the food was delicious. Our concierge said his mother loved it and that was high praise for a native Italian!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Restaurant, good food, and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and two of our friends ate here the night before the Eugene Marathon and Half Marathon.
We were told it was the best place in town to get Italian food, but to get there a bit before they opened otherwise there would be a long wait.
They were right, we got there at 15 till and there was still a long line of people in front of us waiting to get in. We were lucky and got in during the first wave.
The food was good, the service was great (especially for all they were dealing with) and the place itself was charming. We really enjoyed this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Italian.....very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beside the food being outstanding. The neighborhood atmosphere made it even more spectacular. We were able to eat outside under the heat lamps and enjoyed excellent food, wine and atmosphere. Highly recommend to all singles, couple and families.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.